Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Asa Swain
United States
Queens
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I've only played a handful of games of Ottoman Sunset, so I'm by no means an expert, but the game I played last weekend was particularly surprising.

At the beginning of the game I spent a lot of actions getting as many german advisors as I could to help with the off-map battle. None of the front threatened advanced much and I got lucky with my die rolls. But the third deck was shuffled in halfway through the game, causing a lot of end game events to occur much earlier than normal.

By mid-game I was threatened by the Caucus Army (they got as close as space 1) but right when I was getting worried, they disappeared. Normally I hold the Sinai front back with a combination of the Sinai pipeline and the Gaza-Beersheba fortifications, but the pipeline got built very early in the game, and the fortification card came up when the space was controlled by the British. (doh!)

So Lawrence and the Sinai Front threatened me late in the game, but with some lucky die rolls I kept pushing them back. I got lucky because the Salonika and Gallipoli fronts were empty for 75% of the game, and right after the Gallipoli front appeared, it disappeared again on the next card. I realize that only having 3 open fronts meant it was much easier to concentrate my attacks on only a few armies.

Even though war weariness set in halfway through the game, my german staff officers helps me win most of my battles, and even the Kaiserschlacht didn't have a big effect on my National Will, I was constantly winning 2/3 of the battles I was fighting.

By the end of the game, I was feeling very cocky and was pondering how big my victory score would be. My three open fronts were all back at 3 and 4 spaces, and my national will was at 3-5. Strangely enough I hadn't had the british run the narrows, but I had long since maxed out my defenses.