Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Sunrise City» Forums » Rules

Subject: MUST or MAY build a bulding rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Bob Flaherty
United States
Loves Park
Illinois
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Must a player build a building on their turn?
The rules don't explicitly state this. However, the only inclination is that the rules have a section regarding passing if you cannot.

Here is the actual scenario from tonight's game - it was a close one.

P1 has 14 BT's and P3 has 15 BT's. P3 and P4 each have one building left. P1 is on the 8. P1 has the union contractor allowing one point to be gained for each upper floor built. If P3 must play a building and his only legal play is an upper floor he is potentially loosing the game as he is giving P1 one point (placing him on the 9). If not he can control his own destiny. We made the call the P3 must play. P4 actually had two legal plays and in his case was a kingmaker: a) he plays an upper floor P1 wins with 16 stars, b) he plays a 1st floor P3 wins with 15 stars. If P3 did not have to play he would have won outright. This kingmaking situation was discouraging to the kingmaker who flipped a coin. So in the end we spent 90 minutes to flip a coin, giving the win to P3. (BTW I was Player 1) Since this was our first play, it was discouraging for the outcome to come down to this.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg
United States
Brea
CA
flag msg tools
This space intentionally left green.
badge
GRRREEEEEEEEENNNN!!!!!!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

While the rules don't explicitly state that a player 'must' play a tile, I think the 'must' can be assumed from this rule:

the rules wrote:
PASSING IF NO POSSIBLE PLACEMENT
If there are no legal placements for any of the building tiles held by a player, and all other players agree, the turn passes to the next player. The player who passed may attempt building placements as usual on subsequent turns.


Since a player may only pass is all players agree he has no valid placement, the converse, that a player 'must' play a tile if he can, must be true
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
New Hampshire
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, a player must make a play if he is able. If players had the option to play or not play then the game cold easily become dead in the water as everyone passed waiting for someone else to play first.

If you find this situation disturbing the try hiding each player's benchmark tokens so no one knows who has what score. The end result could be the same but a king would not be made "on purpose".
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.