Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Runewars: Banners of War» Forums » Rules

Subject: Commanders rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Fedor Syagin
United States
New York
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Couple of question on commanders.
1.)So when exactly can commanders use their precombat or combat ability?
2.) If commander is alone and enemy units are moving in - do commander have to do anything is battle even resolved?
3.) Commander alone with stronghold ? (As far as I understand yes since stronghold always cause battle to be resolved even if there are no units.)
4.) What about commanders and neutral units - do you still have to have one of your own units with you if you have commander?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Lewis
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
NFHS Football & Basketball
badge
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
garfielder wrote:
Couple of question on commanders.
1.)So when exactly can commanders use their precombat or combat ability?

It's just like any other precombat ability - the attacker resolves theirs first, then the defender.

If it is something to resolve during the battle, just resolve it when you want to

Quote:
2.) If commander is alone and enemy units are moving in - do commander have to do anything is battle even resolved?

No, if there is no battle, the commander does not do anything.

Quote:
3.) Commander alone with stronghold ? (As far as I understand yes since stronghold always cause battle to be resolved even if there are no units.)

Actually, I'm not sure this is the case. The rules say "When a standing commander is in an area in which friendly units are resolving a battle..." So if there are no friendly units there, the Commander is not involved in the battle. (The same would apply to empty home-realm areas).

Quote:
4.) What about commanders and neutral units - do you still have to have one of your own units with you if you have commander?

Commanders do not count as units, nor do they cause an area to be "controlled" by you, so they are not sufficient to keep neutrals allied.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.