Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Simon Ceder
Sweden
Åby
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
So I finally managed to convinced my wife to try NR. She has basically only played lighter euros such as Ticket to Ride. I have played 2 scenario games and one longer game head-to-head so far and several solitaire games so I'm not an expert by any means, but I have a reasonable grasp of the rules and some basic strategies.

I started by setting up the Barbarossa scenario, told her the theme of the game and what the counters represent, and asked her what side she wanted to play. She picked the Soviets. I know some people have said that the Germans are easier for a beginner, but IMO the Germans take some knowledge to fully exploit the first few turns without getting your entire army encircled, and really the main thing that makes them easier is that they cannot be eliminated by sudden death early on. Besides, this way she got to watch me go first.

First turn I only explained in brief the rules for movement and combat. She seemed a bit put off by the CRT, and never really got used to it during our session. First German turn played out normally with DR's and one DS. I chose not to go for the AGC pocket to avoid having to explain the supply rules.

On her turn I explain the movement rules more indepth and tell her about ZOCs, and suggest that she should be positioning her units to prevent me from moving where I want to. I also explain the use of cards (I didn't use any on my turn). She moves her units for a counterattack outside Kiev which is ill-advised, but I don't discourage her for the sake of learning the combat system.