Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Railways of the World» Forums » Rules

Subject: Basic rules question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Stephen Simpson
United States
Chicago
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Just got this game in a trade, and I haven't seen what appears to be a basic question answered anywhere here so I'm not reading correctly.

The scenario in question is this, my guess it is not legal but I just want to be sure:

A player has just built a 4 length track from Chicago to Indianapolis. On his next turn can they a 4 length track that starts in St.Louis with an ending point being the 2nd hex in the chain running from Chicago to Indianapolis?

The rules state that
"The first tile laid must either connect to a city or the end of an incomplete track"

The first tile placed would be in St.Louis so that criteria would be met.

"All subsequent tiles laid during that action must extend that link"

This would be met as well. I guess the contention is over the term link.

"A tile or series of tiles that connect one city to another is called a Link"

So this is there it's ambiguous, are there two links here? If so then we're fine, but if it's somehow classified as one link it won't work because it says it connects ONE city to another. This link would connect two.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Loscutoff
United States
Sacramento
California
flag msg tools
I'd rather lose to a good move, Than win to a bad one...
badge
the abstract manifest.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
see my answer to you Under "Tycoon"
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.