Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Call of Cthulhu: The Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: X value? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mark Ryan
United Kingdom
Southampton
Hampshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
hey guys
how do cards with a value of X work?

cheers
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
PenumbraPenguin
Australia
Sydney
NSW
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
You can choose the value of X when you play them, unless the card says what X needs to be.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lars Berggren
Sweden
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
X is often the amount of resources you pay to play the card, or the number of a specified card or other, that is in play.

The text on the cards always tells you what X is.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
corum irsei
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Note, that whenever the value of 'X' is currently undefined, it's treated as a zero:
Quote:
(2.11) “X” (The Letter “X”)
Unless specified by a preceding card,
card effect, or granted player choice, the
letter “X” is always equal to zero.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Johnny B
msg tools
Re: X value when X is free?
How does the new(er) Yog-Sothoth ability combo with spell event cards that have a cost of X?

Yog-Sothoth Action: Pay 2 to choose and play a Spell event card from your discard pile without paying its cost. Then, place that card on the bottom of your deck.

Pushed into the Beyond "Action: Choose a character card in play with cost X or lower. Then, shuffle that card into its owner's deck. "

Other examples of this are Unspeakable Ressurection and Pulled from the Beyond.

Would X=0 because it was not specified by the preceeding card effect, or is it "granted players choice"?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carthoris Pyramidos
United States
Centennial
Colorado
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
X=0 because it is specified by Yog's card effect. "Without paying its cost" means "paying zero."
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.