Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Sergeants Miniatures Game: Day of Days» Forums » Rules

Subject: Entry areas and exiting the map rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Greg
United States
Lowell
Indiana
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
First of all, regarding entry areas. I know that all of your figures need to enter from the same entry area. But for curiosity's sake, I was wondering why there are ABC in red then XYZ in blue? Do the colors mean anything because they are different? If you have orders that say enter at any entry area and the opponent has the same orders, I know they can't enter at the same entry area, but wondered if after the first group was entered onto the map, if the other player can enter from any other entry area, or if they need to enter from an entry area of a different color than that other player? I don't recall seeing anything stating that would be the case, but just wondered if the different colors had any meaning at all.

Secondly, regarding exiting the map. If you move a figure off the map, can they come back in (presuming the come back in from the one they exited)?

The rules say: When a Soldier is not brought into the map by Game Turn 4, the Soldier is lost from play but does not count toward Victory Points".

Per the rules, I'm guessing that if a Soldier move off the map on turn 3, if he does not re-enter the map during a later phase of turn 3 then he is lost. The "by turn 4" reads to me as by the beginning of turn 4. My nephew barely got his soldiers into play last night as he had orders to not enter until turn 2. He had move actions in turn 1 that were wasted and during turn 2 he didn't draw any move actions. By turn 3 he barely was able to get his guys onto the map. It would kind of be a quick game if the cards just lined up wrong and bad draws lead to a situation with those orders that he couldn't enter the map by the beginning of turn 4. However, that being the end of the game would make for a quick set-up for a second game.

Edit: I saw somewhere else a little bit ago, I think posted by Duke, that it's the end of Turn 4 that figures have to enter the map, not at the beginning of Turn 4. I would hope that's the correct answer, though "by Turn 4" reads by the start of Turn 4 to me.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian
United States
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
Johnny hastily dug a foxhole, careful not to damage the sticky bomb detonator. The tank rumbled nearer. Fear of being crushed or spotted consumed him; yet seconds later, he deftly slapped the bomb onto a greasy gear and spun for cover, snap-firing...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It might not matter with the colors, but it makes sense that each side would have its own relative zone of control to conform to.

Kevin answered my question that it is by the end of turn 4 and you're right that the language pertaining to that aspect needs tightening up.

While it might not explicitly prohibit entry, exit and re-entry elsewhere and I applaud the idea of deploying on the map, running back off the edge and redeploying at lightning speed somewhere else as creative, it just doesn't seem to coexist with my own notions concerning the spirit of play here with respect to squad formation and its operational logistics.

Presumably then you could completely outflank someone just deployed almost instantly from an entirely different compass direction, and the enemy could then respond likewise, all within the span of a single turn. It doesn't track to my way of thinking that they could be able to physically cover the ground in question or that they necessarily would break the general formation, but that's just me. After all, it's all about the guy next to you, right Sir? Heh, I said right, Sergeant? What the... now where the heck did Harrison go? Great...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg
United States
Lowell
Indiana
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I know it was a Designer's Note regarding escorting a prisoner off the map to preserve those VPs. I certainly wouldn't allow that you could escort the prisoner off the map and then your soldier minus the prisoner could return. But I didn't know if you could have a soldier leave and come back from the same square for whatever reason, there's no way IMO they should be able to leave and come back from another entry area.

Now what about if some figures leave the map due to order requirements but there might be a straggler or two that don't get off the map before getting killed. Per the Instant Victory Conditions, if all remaining soldiers are eliminated after some got off the board, does that still count as Instant Victory because there weren't any forces left before the story deck ran out or the end of the allotted scenario turns? Or do the Instant Victory Conditions ONLY apply when ALL of a players forces they started the game with (except any that can't get on by end of turn 4 because they are lost from play) are eliminated?

That's where sometimes things get confusing, amongst others. It seems like soldiers leaving the map can affect a lot of things regarding a situation where Instant Victory can/can't happen or Order completion of killing/capturing all encountered soldiers.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian
United States
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
Johnny hastily dug a foxhole, careful not to damage the sticky bomb detonator. The tank rumbled nearer. Fear of being crushed or spotted consumed him; yet seconds later, he deftly slapped the bomb onto a greasy gear and spun for cover, snap-firing...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sorry, didn't realize you were only talking about exiting for VPs, my fault.

I agree that Orders do get confusing at times, particularly when multiple players are involved. I'm sure these player concerns have been recognized by the powers that be and will eventually be officially clarified and hopefully also printed for future major expansions.

The original intent for the rules was a minimalist approach. I'll give a lot of credit to LBG for listening and acknowledging that this wasn't working and then doing something about it. This will likely be an ongoing process throughout SMG's growing pains this year and I have faith that eventually most of the threads here will switch to strategy instead of frequent questions about the rules.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg
United States
Lowell
Indiana
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I agree. Rules questions aren't unique by any means to SMG. I remember when Lord of the Rings: Living Card Game came out, there were tons of questions regarding rules and Fantasy Flight Games had to come up with answers for that as well. It happens and I think that LBG is great about being open to working on this to make things better.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.