Popular Tags: [View All]
William
United States
Converse
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
badge
I game for a living...I just dont get paid for it.
mbmbmbmbmb
At one of the local half price books, i found the old 4th edition intro boxes put out by FASA back in the day. It even still has all the cardstock cut-outs of the mechs. Picked it up for $20:-D

I haven't played Battle tech since this came out the first time around, but i know there is a introductory box set out now. Getting that would get me the miniatures and an updated ruleset.

I am trying to see if it is worth investing in it or not. I have the heroscap terrain pieces so a map isnt a problem. I have a box full of the wizkid mechwarrior mechs that I could use as standins for the figs.
So my only think that I am not sure of is the Rules. How much did the rule set change? Is it primarily readability or major differences?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason
United States
Arnold
Missouri
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Can't say what changed from the FASA 4th ed, but I was able to pick the game back up with minimal problems after being a 2nd edition player.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott M.
United States
Winter Springs
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
If you have played Btech any time since its incarnation... your a certified MEch warrior with todays rules..

The most Updated rules are in a book called TotalWarfare by Catalyst games ~40 ebay/amazon. They coincide witht he 25th anniversary box set. You can find a starter set of rules on Catalysts website for battletech. They are the license holders now and are doing a bang up job getting betech back out there!

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
William
United States
Converse
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
badge
I game for a living...I just dont get paid for it.
mbmbmbmbmb