These questions concern the strike chart for battles involving characters in adjacent bramble hexes.
The hazard chart states:
A non-native character striking out of a Bramble hex has its Skill-factor reduced by 1.
Does the SF-1 penalty apply when striking from a Bramble hex into another Bramble hex?
Yes, even if a non-native is defending in the other bramble.
Assuming the penalty applies, as I suspect, what the ruling is when the strike number from the Strike Chart is 6 and a +1 penalty has to be applied because the Defender is native.
Does the strike number remain 6 in such a case or does the strike return 0 hits because the die roll can never be 7?
That rule was incorrectly worded. (It should have increased the skill factor for defense, not the strike number.) The intent was that 6s always hit. The intended rule (6s always hit) is used at the WBC.
Also note that 1s do NOT always miss. In a tower you can have characters have automatic hits.