Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Titan» Forums » Rules

Subject: Strike Chart clarifications in Bramble rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Paul Zaft
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
These questions concern the strike chart for battles involving characters in adjacent bramble hexes.

The hazard chart states:
Quote:
A non-native character striking out of a Bramble hex has its Skill-factor reduced by 1.

Does the SF-1 penalty apply when striking from a Bramble hex into another Bramble hex?

Assuming the penalty applies, as I suspect, what the ruling is when the strike number from the Strike Chart is 6 and a +1 penalty has to be applied because the Defender is native.
Does the strike number remain 6 in such a case or does the strike return 0 hits because the die roll can never be 7?

This situation will happen if the non-native attackers Skill-factor is 2 and the native defenders skill factor is 3.

Of course this is not a good situation for the attacker blush
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David desJardins
United States
Burlingame
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
6 always hits. Some versions of the rules are not clear about this, in some cases.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bruno Wolff
msg tools
greenbeyer wrote:
These questions concern the strike chart for battles involving characters in adjacent bramble hexes.

The hazard chart states:
Quote:
A non-native character striking out of a Bramble hex has its Skill-factor reduced by 1.

Does the SF-1 penalty apply when striking from a Bramble hex into another Bramble hex?

Yes, even if a non-native is defending in the other bramble.
greenbeyer wrote:

Assuming the penalty applies, as I suspect, what the ruling is when the strike number from the Strike Chart is 6 and a +1 penalty has to be applied because the Defender is native.
Does the strike number remain 6 in such a case or does the strike return 0 hits because the die roll can never be 7?

That rule was incorrectly worded. (It should have increased the skill factor for defense, not the strike number.) The intent was that 6s always hit. The intended rule (6s always hit) is used at the WBC.
Also note that 1s do NOT always miss. In a tower you can have characters have automatic hits.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Zaft
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Thank you for the answers. To summarise there is always a minimum 1/6 chance of a hit.

On a related issue. If playing variants with characters with variant skill factors (eg 9-5 Knight in abyssal) and native lands the row or column shifts may extend offthe strike chart. Many wargames rules convert these to die modifiers (subject to a max SN of 6 as above).

What's the ruling in this case in Titan variants?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bruno Wolff
msg tools
greenbeyer wrote:
Thank you for the answers. To summarise there is always a minimum 1/6 chance of a hit.

On a related issue. If playing variants with characters with variant skill factors (eg 9-5 Knight in abyssal) and native lands the row or column shifts may extend offthe strike chart. Many wargames rules convert these to die modifiers (subject to a max SN of 6 as above).

What's the ruling in this case in Titan variants?

The variants aren't really standardized. I think you'd probably still follow the 6s always hit intention of the original rules unless the variant author said to do things differently.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.