Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

D-Day at Omaha Beach» Forums » Rules

Subject: missing the point? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Herman GILIS
Belgium
Antwerp
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Finally absorbed all the rules for the basic game but still a few
questions: Rule 8.13 what kind of (supplemantary?) action does a unit have
to do in order to attack.The attack itself is an action or not?
And in the colourexample on p.4 an Inf.unit attacks with a Tank and it couts as Two actions, while in the rulebook 8.31 it states : an attack by more than 1 unit is resolved as a single attack?
What am I missing in this fantastic game??
Thx

Herman
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Piotr
Poland
flag msg tools
Avatar
An attack by more than 1 unit is resolved as a single attack, that is you don't resolve for example two attacks, but sum up the strenghts etc. and cross-reference the table once, for instance two units with strenght of 4 attack then you've got strenght of 8 against enemy position. Be wary of possible bonuses for enemies when attacking through or into some hexes like buildings or shingles. But the thing is, unless you have free actions by being in command of HQ or General you have to use 1 action for each attacking unit/stack of units (remember if you have several units on 1 hex and choose to perform the same action with them e.g. attack the same enemy position, then you use 1 action for it) so attack by 2 units would cost 2 actions and be resolved as a single attack. You CAN'T attack the same posiiton twice in a turn so basically you attack once but possibly with several units.

Rule 8.13 says exactly about this, you can't attack with two units by using 1 action point, you have to conduct "attack" action with each attacking unit. The game really has you carefully choosing what to do, it gets better when HQs and Generals come and give all adjacent units free actions.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Herman GILIS
Belgium
Antwerp
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb

Thanks a lot Piotr,I can see clearly now.
Have a nice weekend.

Herman
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.