Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Virgin Queen» Forums » Rules

Subject: Sack allowed after Treachery event? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Bill Koens
United States
Watsonville
California
flag msg tools
badge
marks the spot.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi y'all

The 'Sack' response card is playable after a successful assault. Suppose someone plays Treachery, and the hits rolled are not enough to destroy all the enemy units, but the attacker takes the key due to the Treachery text (he's got more units than the defender after the die roll). Would this count as a 'successful assault' allowing the play of the Sack event?

Thanks in advance!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joel K
United States
Minnetrista
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sounds valid. Sack! doesn't use the language "successful assault", it says: "Play after an assault captures a fortified space."

Since the Treachery! card initiates an alternative to the normal assault procedure, you are getting a free pass from the Successful/Unsuccessful test in 15.1--you got the key even though you didn't meet the criteria for the "Successful" outcome, and Sack! simply requires that you captured it.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joel Tamburo
United States
Justice
Illinois
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Agreed. In Treachery! you are still "assaulting"; it is just that the card allows an alternate method of assault to be used. So if you prevail with Trachery! you meet the prerequisites of Sack.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bill Koens
United States
Watsonville
California
flag msg tools
badge
marks the spot.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That would be my interpretation; however, one could argue that it was not after the assault that the key was captured, but after the resolution of the event.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.