Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Guns of August» Forums » Rules

Subject: Attacking Across a River rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ken Kmak
United States
Parrish
Florida
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
If one of the units attacking an enemy hex is attacking across a river, the others are not, is it the only one that has its fire reduced by half? Many games only impose the attacking across the river penalty if all the units are attacking across a river, but I did not see that statement in the rules either. Please clarify the situation of some attacking across a river and some not. TY.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael McCalpin
United States
McKinney
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
When a designer says that a unit's strength is doubled when defending an attack across a river, it makes a certain degree of sense that the effect is negated if the attack is not entirely across the river because the game's effect is directed at the the defender who is not now conducting solely a river defense. The trouble here is that since a defending unit cannot be both doubled and not doubled at the same time, the usual approach is to simply pretend the river isn't there at all when any units are not attacking across a river. This denies the real hassles involved in a contested river crossing.

In Guns of August, the rules instead reduce the attacker's strength when attacking across a river, so the effect is specific to each attacking unit: either it is attacking across a river (and is therefore halved) or not. This is such an obviously better system for reflecting mixed river-crossing attacks that it is surprising more games don't use it.

My 2 cents.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ken Kmak
United States
Parrish
Florida
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
I agree that it makes sense to halve the strength of only the units that are attacking across a river. And now that you mention it this makes more sense than the way most other games treat this situation, that is all attacking across a river, all penalized; some attacking across a river, none penalized.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
grant wylie
United States
va. beach
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
It is correct,only the ones attacking across the river are penalized.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.