Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

The Lord of the Rings: The Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Don't leave the path rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Steve Briscoe
United Kingdom
Shropshire
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Can anyone explain what the card 3b means in the wording.
It says this. "Each player must search the encounter deck and discard pile for 1 spider card of his choice, and add it to the staging area.
The players must find and defeat Ungoliant Spawn to win the game"
Now Ungoliant Spawn is a spider, so does this mean that you have to have this and another spider of your choice to win the game? If not, then surely you would only choose the Ungoliant Spawn, as you would not choose to try to beat 2 monsters instead of one.
Also find and defeat...does that mean look for in the deck or just carry on until you find the Ungoliant Spawn through normal means of drawing the card in a normal turn.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Morris
Scotland
Harrogate
North Yorkshire
flag msg tools
designer
Join the BGG Folding @Home Team !!
badge
This user had more :gg: than sense
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
diceman56 wrote:
Can anyone explain what the card 3b means in the wording.
It says this. "Each player must search the encounter deck and discard pile for 1 spider card of his choice, and add it to the staging area.
The players must find and defeat Ungoliant Spawn to win the game"
Now Ungoliant Spawn is a spider, so does this mean that you have to have this and another spider of your choice to win the game? If not, then surely you would only choose the Ungoliant Spawn, as you would not choose to try to beat 2 monsters instead of one.
Also find and defeat...does that mean look for in the deck or just carry on until you find the Ungoliant Spawn through normal means of drawing the card in a normal turn.
The intent of this card is that if the Spawn is not already in the staging area, you look for it and put it there. You could, if you wish, just add another spider, and then wait for the Spawn to turn up normally, but that would usually be daft. It may already be in the discard pile, so you might have to wait a long time for the encounter deck to run out, and then get the discard pile shuffled and start again. And what if the Spawn turns up as a shadow card? Well, you have to go through the whole deck again. Not a good idea.

You don't have to kill any other spiders that you place through this, just the Spawn. And as soon as the Spawn is dead, you win. So when you have enough offense to kill it, put every character on attacking it, and ignore the fact that unguarded attacks from other engaged baddies might wipe out heroes.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Stevens
United States
Nebraska
flag msg tools
I protect the sheep in our society from the wolves.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Do you have to do this even if you killed Ungoliant Spawn earlier in the game?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Steinbach
United States
Forest Grove
Oregon
flag msg tools
Omahavice wrote:
Do you have to do this even if you killed Ungoliant Spawn earlier in the game?

Yes. You have to defeat the Spawn while that victory trigger is active in order to win the game. If you've already killed it prior to reaching Stage 3B, you need to repeat the process.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Boghog
Germany
flag msg tools
If it comes up before this stage, the best idea is to put a Forest Snare on it and keep it fresh for the final (rather one-sided) battle.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eder Monaco
Italy
Rome
RM
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmb
check comments here:
http://www.cardgamedb.com/index.php/lotr/lord-of-the-rings-c...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.