Eli

Dist of Columbia
msg tools
I'm fairly new to the hobby and just completed rating (and, more importantly, commenting on!) the games I own and games I've played: http://boardgamegeek.com/collection/user/EliP

I did this primarily to record my thoughts, but I like the idea of sharing my ratings/comments with other people too.

MY TOP TEN (actually, three)

So far, I only have three games that feel like they belong in my top ten. There are definitely more that I like a lot, but none that feel top ten worthy. I can't wait until I can fill out the whole list.

1. Twilight Struggle
2. Agricola
3. Power Grid

A FEW RANDOM THOUGHTS

I need Theme AND Mechanics

Twilight Struggle, Agricola, and Power Grid are my favorite games because I feel like I'm in the experience.

In Twilight Struggle, it's the wonderful cards and the paranoid psychological state you enter when seeing your opponent add influence to a region.

In Agricola, it's the literalness of the actions you take (take wood, renovate your house, cook animals...) combined with the feeling of building something up while also being on the edge of starvation.

In Power Grid, it's the lively auctions and the dynamic commodities market.

To me, a great ("top ten") game must have that thematic immersion (in addition to great gameplay).

The complexity/depth sweet spot

I own several good games (random example: San Juan) that I never want to play because they fall in the wrong complexity/depth zone. They are too complex for nongamers, but I want something deeper if I'm with gamers. San Juan is a pretty good game, but there are almost no situations where I want to play it. I realize that a lot of games fall into this category for me.

Comments versus reviews

I like filling out the comment section on my collection page as opposed to writing a whole review because 1) I'm a few years too late in most cases and 2) I don't have tons of insight beyond a few lines/paragraphs.