Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Virgin Queen» Forums » Rules

Subject: Papal Bull card #5 and Major Power Ally 4/5 player game rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jeff
United States
Eden Prairie
Minnesota
flag msg tools
badge
"Games that want to get out."
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In a 4/5 player game, an activated Major Power may not take a patronage action. Could they use option #3 on the Papal Bull card #5 "Patronize an artist or scientist of your choice from Italy as if 3 CP were spent"? Or in other words, are options on an event considered "Actions"?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg Forster
United States
Pleasant Prairie
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
badge
"When playing a game, the goal is to win, but it is the goal that is important, not the winning" - Dr. Reiner Knizia
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There wouldn't be much point to the rule if you allowed this. The idea here is that allowing activated majors to patronize is too powerful; you would basically be doubling your ability to Hoover up VP and bonuses. Activating a major is supposed to give you the opportunity to earn extra VP the old fashioned way - bloodthirsty conquest and stuff like that. Not just rack up extra random die roll payouts.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.