In a 4/5 player game, an activated Major Power may not take a patronage action. Could they use option #3 on the Papal Bull card #5 "Patronize an artist or scientist of your choice from Italy as if 3 CP were spent"? Or in other words, are options on an event considered "Actions"?
Last edited Mon May 21, 2012 12:07 am (Total Number of Edits: 1)
"When playing a game, the goal is to win, but it is the goal that is important, not the winning" - Dr. Reiner Knizia
There wouldn't be much point to the rule if you allowed this. The idea here is that allowing activated majors to patronize is too powerful; you would basically be doubling your ability to Hoover up VP and bonuses. Activating a major is supposed to give you the opportunity to earn extra VP the old fashioned way - bloodthirsty conquest and stuff like that. Not just rack up extra random die roll payouts.