Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
12 Posts

Dust Tactics» Forums » Rules

Subject: Snipers and Observers. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Thomas Valenty
United States
Minnesota
flag msg tools
mb
What units can these be attached to? Can they be attached to a unit that has a hero attached? Can they both be attached to the same unit? Can they be attached to each other? Can they both run solo?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Smith
United Kingdom
Gillingham
Kent
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
They can't be attached to anything and operate as a pair, you can attach a hero if you want. There are no special rules for them.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thomas Valenty
United States
Minnesota
flag msg tools
mb
In the rules they mention the spotter ability used with a heavy weapons team. It makes it seem like they can be attached to other units.

"A Spotter is never found alone: he is always with a Sniper or a heavy weapons squad".

Page 18 of the Dust Tactics rulebook.

If they are always paired with each other, why do they each have their own card?

I was thinking they can join a squad with equal armor value.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thiago Aranha
Brazil
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Snipers and Observers are individual squads that work just like any other squad.

Snipers are NEVER joined to the Observers (Foxtrot, Beobachter). The Spotter ability has nothing to do with the Observer squad.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thomas Valenty
United States
Minnesota
flag msg tools
mb
How do you get a spotter with a heavy weapons squad?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thiago Aranha
Brazil
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You wait for them to release such a squad. The ability was written with not just this one squad in mind, they would consider future releases as well.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thomas Valenty
United States
Minnesota
flag msg tools
mb
Makes sense. What happens to the spotter when the sniper is killed? The rule states that the spotter is never alone, but the unit's card shows 2 hit points.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thiago Aranha
Brazil
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Don't take the fluff text THAT literally. The spotter's function is to aid the sniper, but that doesn't mean that the sniper can't die and leave the spotter alone. If the unit takes 1 hit, one of the soldiers will die, either the spotter or the sniper. If the spotter dies, the sniper no longer hits on blanks. If the sniper dies, the spotter is just a lone soldier who hits on blanks with his gun.

But remember that you CAN attach an Armor 2 hero to the Snipers, thus giving him the ability to hit on blanks while the spotter is alive.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thomas Valenty
United States
Minnesota
flag msg tools
mb
Thanks. New to Dust Tactics, and I want to make sure we are playing it right.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thiago Aranha
Brazil
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No problem. Keep on asking any doubts you may have.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
sacha cauvin
France
rouen
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
you can always put Rosie or angela with the sniperscool
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thiago Aranha
Brazil
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
general hoth wrote:
you can always put Rosie or angela with the sniperscool

Or you could be a little less orthodox and put the Chef or Sigrid.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.