Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Virgin Queen» Forums » Rules

Subject: Corsairs in Atlantic Sea Zones rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
rich spilky
United States
Illinois
flag msg tools
Section 5.4 states that "Corsairs are the only naval unit that may initiate piracy in Europe without being at war with the target power. They are less effective when fighting in Atlantic sea zones."

Meanwhile, section 16.2 indicates that a corsair rolls "1 die for each corsair or galley (if this galley is participating in a combat in an Atlantic sea zone)" when in naval combat.

How is it then that a Corsair is "less effective" when fighting in an Atlantic Sea Zone? (Granted, it's not likely that a Corsair would be in an Atlantic Sea Zone, but anyway, my question is still a question).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marco Poutré
Canada
St-Jean-sur-Richelieu
Quebec
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Yes... I still like 'em 35 years later...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You're right, blame the Copy/Paste of the galleys text.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim K.
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The 'less effective' is relative to a galleon. Both corsairs and galleys are less effective in the Atlantic sea zones compared to galleons.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.