Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Omen: A Reign of War» Forums » Rules

Subject: Resolving a war-torn city with a beast rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Geoff
United States
Natick
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
I want to believe
badge
*distinctive theme song whistle*
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The victor of a battle gets to keep 1 unit. Since a beast counts as 2 units, does that mean that can't choose a beast as your one surviving card?

Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Hornberger
United States
lockport
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
The winner of a war-torn discards until he has one unit left in that city, it is true that you cannot keep a beast in that regard since they count as two units.

However the loser of a war-torn city discards down to two units thus allowing a beast to remain in the city.

Cheers
10 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Damien
Australia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Played our first game just now and I didn't realise this. A beast, soldier, and oracle are all units. However a beast counts as 2 units when calculating City Limits.

Initially I didn't think during Step 5: War these City Limits applied, they are only applied during Step 2: Surge. However, it is explicitly stated in the second edition rulebook:

"Beasts count as two (2) Units! A player who wins a War-Torn City cannot leave a Beast in the City."
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Geoff
United States
Natick
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
I want to believe
badge
*distinctive theme song whistle*
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
otaku wrote:
"Beasts count as two (2) Units! A player who wins a War-Torn City cannot leave a Beast in the City."


Yeah, I think I stumbled upon this in the rules a couple days after getting the answer from this thread. Oops! Egg on my face
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.