BoardGameGeek» Forums » Gaming Related » Recommendations

Subject: What to get Friday or Onirim? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
mau g
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi Guys,

I'm relatively new to board games (or card games) and just recently discovered Dominion (me and my wife really like it and are planning on getting the expansions). While browsing through BGG reading about Dominion, I saw these two games, Friday & Onirim and I really like the concept of both. I am also very attracted to the solitary play as well as I have only my wife to play games with.

So what do you think is the best to get first between the two? Many thanks in advance for the help!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Big Lebowski
Germany
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
The Dude abides!
badge
yeah? well… y’know, that’s just like, uh… your opinion, man…
mbmbmbmbmb
I guess it's a matter of personal taste.

Me, I put away Onirim after my first 2 plays - disappointed by the limited decisions during gamplay. Friday on the other side is a big hit for me and still a challenge.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg Taylor
United States
Bellevue
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmb
Onirim is a decent game, but Friday is excellent.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Danny O'Donnell
United States
Sacramento
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
woodoo03 wrote:
I guess it's a matter of personal taste.

Me, I put away Onirim after my first 2 plays - disappointed by the limited decisions during gamplay. Friday on the other side is a big hit for me and still a challenge.

Were either of those with any of the expansions? I think Onirim's biggest problem is that it doesn't present itself properly; the 'base game' is really only there to learn the mechanics. The real meat of the game isn't found until you add in the expansions, particularly the Book of Steps Lost and Found.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J.A.H. van de Laak
Hong Kong
Hong Kong
flag msg tools