Popular Tags: [View All]
David "Brother" Eicher
United States
Lima
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I am by no means an expert in this game, as evidenced by the fact that I have yet to win so much as the first mission.

My games tend to degenerate into excruciating and expensive firefights with enemies that I find impossible to dislodge. Is there a secret to routing enemies?

Admittedly, I may be playing a bit too conservatively. I often hesitate to send units onto an enemy occupied card, especially when a HMG is blasting away into the card with other units on other cards creating a crossfire.

Is sending your men into that kind of situation necessary to complete the clearing of a card? Is there some other way?

Any advice that anyone can give would be greatly appreciated.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
calpurnio pison

rafelbunyol
valencia
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
i smash enemy units with "incoming!". i send the FO (enemy unit is already spotted and firing to the unid triggered the PC). If the FO unit get a pending mission, that enemy unit will not attack because the "incoming!" marker is like smoke, and block its LOS. so, the FO is safe.

When enemy unit becomes LAT, then i send my troops to its card, and capture them.

i don't send troops to a card with good order enemy troops. it's my way.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Kossits
Canada
Montreal
Quebec
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
When the unit you're trying to dislodge is pinned, by all means get in close and start throwing grenades. Heavy weapons are -4, but a grenade is -5 and it's not so hard to get multiple grenades that stack up. Risk is minimal because a pinned unit can't get a return grenade attack.

Once an enemy is pinned, you have to try to keep him pinned.

You also have a 20-25% chance more or less of a pinned enemy simply running away.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
calpurnio pison

rafelbunyol
valencia
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb