Popular Tags: [View All]
Antony Alexander
United Kingdom
Stevenage
Hertfordshire
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
----------------------

So Mage Knight, eh? Hotness, one edition down and the second nearly sold out. What is it all about? Well, I know because I've got my copy. Nah, nah na naahhh, nah.

Sorry, couldn't resist.

DISCLAIMER: I am new to the geek and, while getting to be long in the tooth, am a fairly new boardgaming convert so I apologise if I step on toes, get things wrong or am trying to teach anyone to suck eggs but here goes....

The Components

Well, first lets get the components over with. Meh.

Right on with the game......

Actually it probably does deserve more mention that the components to what is, in scale, as grand and epic a game as you can encounter this side of the Imperium are somewhat disappointing. I think it best to divide this into four sections although you will find little new here.

Design/Artwork. This is fantastic. I love the artwork which is rich and evocative and the graphic design, in what is a pretty darn complex game, is top notch and helps with the setup and learning. The only slight criticism I have is that with the twin rule book idea. While it is quite nice in itself and I found the "starter" book to be pretty good at teaching the game, a good index referencing both books contents would have been even more useful than the usual missing rulebook index.

The Box. This is a decent quality box and they have at least attempted to include a well designed modular insert. Unfortunately, the design here isn't perfect and the quality of the insert sections is poor, very thin plastic and not perfectly moulded so I don't know how long I will keep it intact.