Anna Bruna
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Please share your most favourite mechanism and least favourite mechanism.

Mine:

Most favourite: Worker placement
I like the choice of a variety of actions that you get with worker placement.
I also like variable starting players (especially if it ties in the theme is. Fresco)

Least Favourite: Deck Building (especially if it's the core of the game)
I find a lot of shuffling tedious (and I'm not very good at it) and I find deck building very repetitive.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul DeStefano
United States
Long Island
New York
flag msg tools
designer
badge
It's a Zendrum. www.zendrum.com
mbmbmbmbmb
I hate anything that requires 'acting' or doing something 'silly'.

I can damn well make a fool of myself without a game telling me to.

Favorite is simultaneous turns.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin Larouche
Canada
Longueuil
Quebec
flag msg tools
Melting souls with cuteness since 2007
badge
Lovin' N-16
mbmbmbmbmb
Favorite: Role selection.
Puerto Rico and Twilight Imperium 3 are the only games i rate a "10". I suspect the role selection is a big part of the reason.

Least favorite: Auctions and bidding.
I just don't like having to guess how much my opponents will big on anything. What it usually boils down in the games that have that mechanic is one or two elements have high bids, then the rest goes for next to free because no one has cash anymore...
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
S McCulloch
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
He Says he likes tile placement and area control. Because he likes to think in pictures. Least favourite games are games with spreadsheet like action as in Hawaii and Vikings.

She says role playing, scenario are her faves. Like the story telling, narrative feel to them. Least favourite is games with too much adding, dividing numbers as in Troyes.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Dugas
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools