Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

No Retreat! The Russian Front» Forums » Rules

Subject: Friendly map edge (stupid question) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Carlos S. Olivares Pérez
Spain
Vigo
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Although the north map edge of Russia is red, that north map edge is not a friendly map edge for Russia according to 6.1: "east and south".

Am I right?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David desJardins
United States
Burlingame
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The Soviets can trace to the "map edge" in the two swamp hexes immediately east of Lake Onega. See the diagram at the top of page 5, which shows exactly this.

It would rarely make any difference.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carlos S. Olivares Pérez
Spain
Vigo
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
DaviddesJ wrote:
The Soviets can trace to the "map edge" in the two swamp hexes immediately east of Lake Onega. See the diagram at the top of page 5, which shows exactly this.


But those are north map hedges, and rules only talk about south and east map edges (when refering to friendly hex map edges).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David desJardins
United States
Burlingame
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Well, in this case the "east map edge" wraps around to a couple of hexes that aren't the easternmost on their row.

The "east coast" of the United States sometimes runs east-west rather than north-south.

I'm not sure if you're questioning the answer---the example seems extremely clear---or you're just complaining that the answer isn't explained in the rules in the way that you would like.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Cracky McCracken
United States
Ohio
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Here ya go Proyecto...

Rule Book page 5
Quote:

Cities and Supply: A City hex is friendly if a friendly
unit was the last to enter or pass through it, or it began
that scenario as a friendly supplied City hex. A City hex is
supplied if it is able to trace a valid Supply Path of unlimited
length from itself to a friendly map edge. A friendly map
edge is the west (dark gray) edge for the Axis, and the
east and south (red) edges for Russians.
The path from a
city must be in a Westerly direction only for the Axis (West,
Southwest and Northwest), and an Easterly direction only
for the Soviets (East, Southeast and Northeast).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carlos S. Olivares Pérez
Spain
Vigo
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
See the subject.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carl Paradis
Canada
montreal
Québec
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
All the Soviet red border hexes are supply sources.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Cracky McCracken
United States
Ohio
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
i did see the subject, and two users have just gone out of thier way to point out to you that your question is clearly covered in the text and an accompaning example on page five of the rule book.


=========

edit.. two users and the game's designer. jinx Carl!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carlos S. Olivares Pérez
Spain
Vigo
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So 7.1 should say this: "Soviet units are placed in any Soviet controlled City that can trace a Supply Path (see 6.1) even in EZOCs, or on any red (east or south or north) map edge hex in Russia not in an Enemy Zone of Control".
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aleksandar Pesic
Serbia
Belgrade
SERBIA
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Not 7.1 but 7.6.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carl Paradis
Canada
montreal
Québec
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
proyecto_mgj wrote:
So 7.1 should say this: "Soviet units are placed in any Soviet controlled City that can trace a Supply Path (see 6.1) even in EZOCs, or on any red (east or south or north) map edge hex in Russia not in an Enemy Zone of Control".


Sure.

This slight oversight happened because the GMT Deluxe Map was expanded 3-4 hexrows east, and it made the Northern border appear. In the original game there was no such red "North" border. modest
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.