Ryan R
United States
South Carolina
flag msg tools
mb
Way back in the spring of 1995, as a high school freshman, my history and English class was combined. 60 students, 2 teachers, double the length, etc, etc...

Toward the end of the second semester, our history teacher put together our "WWI Simulation." It was only after going through this week long exercise did I learn about Diplomacy.

Our history teacher divided us up into teams of 8 or 9 people per country. We elected a leader and the rest of the people were diplomats and ambassadors. Each country had a set of diplomatic achievements to accomplish (and had to keep these secret from the other teams), in addition to military objectives, and just plain ole winning the game. We were scored at the end of each round/day based on military and diplomatic objectives completed. Some were worth 5 points, some were worth 10 points.

As luck and fate would have it, I was part of Germany and was elected leader. My diplomats were awesome. Those that were not into the game did exactly what I told them to. It was glorious. My friend, and fierce competitor at games, Tom, was the leader of Russia. Our other friend Adam was stuck with France.

Tom regularly kicked my butt at M:TG. However, since we were playing against the class, we decided to team up and take them all down.

This plan did not work because of the "Diplomatic objectives" and military objectives each country had to accomplish. Our teacher had engineered these objectives to prevent something like this from happening.

In the end, it was Germany, Turkey, and Austria-Hungary against the rest of them. Classic WWI.

I forget the specifics of each round/days' worth of playing. I do remember Turkey and Germany ended #1 and #2 respectively, after the final round. (Of course Germany had be #1 the entire simulation...)