Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

The Ares Project» Forums » Rules

Subject: Newbie Question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
John Gallant
Canada
Dartmouth
Nova Scotia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If the frontier is unoccupied and you take it over, do you get the attack card as a point? That would seem to make sense, but for the life of me I could not find that explicitly in the rules.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Geoffrey Engelstein
United States
Bridgewater
New Jersey
flag msg tools
designer
Pit Crew avaialble now! The Expanse coming in October!
badge
Ludology Host and Dice Tower Contributor
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No. If no one controls the Frontier the attack card is just discarded.

Geoff
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Gallant
Canada
Dartmouth
Nova Scotia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Is that because it would give to big an advantage for whomever took the Frontier first?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Geoffrey Engelstein
United States
Bridgewater
New Jersey
flag msg tools
designer
Pit Crew avaialble now! The Expanse coming in October!
badge
Ludology Host and Dice Tower Contributor
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It's mainly to keep the rules consistent. The card goes to the player who controls it at the start of the battle. If no one controls it, no one gets it.

Geoff
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Hornberger
United States
lockport
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Cheeseburger wrote:
If the frontier is unoccupied and you take it over, do you get the attack card as a point? That would seem to make sense, but for the life of me I could not find that explicitly in the rules.


I found it further clarified in the errata page here on BGG, as it was only by using deduction in the main rules that the first attack card is discarded instead of scored as a point. Link below. Cheers!

http://files.boardgamegeek.com/file/download/7ft33sb77z/Ares...?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.