Recommend
7 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

B-17: Queen of the Skies» Forums » Rules

Subject: what if 2 or more gun shoot down a fighter? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Bill Severn
United States
Baltimore
Maryland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Which gunner gets credit for shooting down a fighter if 2 or more guns roll hit numbers and take down the same fighter?

I have been doing one gun at a time, resolving first if the gun hits then if it does what the result is....so if the first gunner takes out the fighter, I give credit to him (for Ace promotion possibilities)...

Irregardless, I always mark off ammo used for each gun marker placed on the fighter card before resolution...

Am I doing this correctly?

thx
Bill
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim P
United States
Sterling Heights
Michigan
flag msg tools
Glück muss man haben
badge
But what I do have are a very particular set of skills, skills I have acquired over a very long career. Skills that make me a nightmare for people like you… And I will beat you.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
severn8212 wrote:
Which gunner gets credit for shooting down a fighter if 2 or more guns roll hit numbers and take down the same fighter?

I have been doing one gun at a time, resolving first if the gun hits then if it does what the result is....so if the first gunner takes out the fighter, I give credit to him (for Ace promotion possibilities)...

Irregardless, I always mark off ammo used for each gun marker placed on the fighter card before resolution...

Am I doing this correctly?

thx
Bill


Bill, I resolve all gunners shots and apply all damage to the German fighter. If two gunners hit the fighter and the combined damage destroys the fighter I give half credit to each gunner. It gets messy if three guns can target a fighter and all hit the blasted bird and it goes down. Then each gunner gets 33% credit.

But that's just me. I believe the USAAF gave partial credit if multiple gunners downed a single fighter.

Jim
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Damo
Australia
Hobart
Tasmania
flag msg tools
Look Up! Stay Alive!
badge
http://australianmuseum.net.au/Drop-Bear
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Another method (completely un-historical and not taking anything away from Jim's method) is to roll a dice for each gunner and the highest roll gets the kill.

It really just gets down to how much book keeping you want to do.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Johnny Mustang

Ashland
Kentucky
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
If both guys say they shot it down, then they split the credit. That's how I see it.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Seth Owen
United States
Norwich
Connecticut
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
jasta6 wrote:
severn8212 wrote:
Which gunner gets credit for shooting down a fighter if 2 or more guns roll hit numbers and take down the same fighter?

I have been doing one gun at a time, resolving first if the gun hits then if it does what the result is....so if the first gunner takes out the fighter, I give credit to him (for Ace promotion possibilities)...

Irregardless, I always mark off ammo used for each gun marker placed on the fighter card before resolution...

Am I doing this correctly?

thx
Bill


Bill, I resolve all gunners shots and apply all damage to the German fighter. If two gunners hit the fighter and the combined damage destroys the fighter I give half credit to each gunner. It gets messy if three guns can target a fighter and all hit the blasted bird and it goes down. Then each gunner gets 33% credit.

But that's just me. I believe the USAAF gave partial credit if multiple gunners downed a single fighter.

Jim


Actually, the Army Air Corps gave up trying to give gunners credits for kills as being unworkable. There were far more "kills" claimed than actual losses inflicted (as documented in German records) and it was essentially impossible to sort out who shot who in the middle of a formation of bombers anyway.

For game purposes you can do as you'd like, as it's a solitaire game and you don't need to get an opponent's agreement. Me, personally, I don't see the utility of making it overly complicated and I'd assign the kill to one gunner, either randomly or in order of firing. This also has the benefit of getting your gunners to a bonus quicker.

But there's more than one way to look at it. I wouldn't call you a "cheater" if you gave a kill credit to EACH gunner who would have otherwise gotten the kill, even if they overlapped. After all, the bonus represents the skill of the gunner and if he would have "shot down" the fighter anyway why should he lose credit for his proficiency just because another guy in the crew was also a good shot?
10 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Lanphear
United States
Stockton
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I bought some extra dice (each one a different color). When I need to roll multiple guns on one enemy a/c I roll the necessary dice all at once and always resolve in the same color order, one roll for the to hit and a second for the damage (usually no second die roll whistle )

If a fighter or fighters are to be driven off, I wait until I've allocated the guns to the various planes, then roll the appropriate number of dice and the high(est) dice remove whatever plane they were assigned to in the list. I do not switch targets if a gun becomes free because of fighter escort driving off an enemy a/c it was tracking. But there's nothing official about that, just my way of playing.



4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim P
United States
Sterling Heights
Michigan
flag msg tools
Glück muss man haben
badge
But what I do have are a very particular set of skills, skills I have acquired over a very long career. Skills that make me a nightmare for people like you… And I will beat you.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
StocktonDave wrote:
I bought some extra dice (each one a different color). When I need to roll multiple guns on one enemy a/c I roll the necessary dice all at once and always resolve in the same color order, one roll for the to hit and a second for the damage (usually no second die roll whistle )

If a fighter or fighters are to be driven off, I wait until I've allocated the guns to the various planes, then roll the appropriate number of dice and the high(est) dice remove whatever plane they were assigned to in the list. I do not switch targets if a gun becomes free because of fighter escort driving off an enemy a/c it was tracking. But there's nothing official about that, just my way of playing.


I do very similar to what Dave does except I roll Escort removal before I assign my bombers guns. I figure they are too far out to shoot so they have time to reacquire a new target.

But I would do whatever works best for your style of play.

Jim
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.