We're new to Acquire and the rules in our 2008 version felt ambiguous after multiple readings. We were puzzled on first play about how to determine the size of the shareholder bonuses and the stock price after a merger. Is it the total size of the merged company or the pre-merger size of the acquired company?
Luckily the much-better-written 1999 rules are available online and explain that all bonuses and prices are related to the now-defunct company, not the merged company. In other words, players use the name and number of tiles in the defunct company to determine bonuses and stock price.
I had looked through the forum to see if anyone else had this issue, and didn't see anything. Either we're poor rules-readers or everyone who buys the 2008 Acquire already knows how to play! I thought I would post this here in case anyone else has the issue. I found the 1999 rules here: http://www.wizards.com/avalonhill/rules/acquire.pdf
I am fairly new to the game as well and only have 2008 rules. It must be covered pretty clearly in there someplace as we have been playing it correctly based on size of the acquired company. I know there are some illustrated examples which may have been where I gleaned that from.