GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!

8,275 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
20 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Compounded» Forums » Reviews

Subject: Very Brief Preview of Compounded from Origins 2012 rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Chris Copac
United States
Hudson
OH
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
DISCLAIMER: I'm not a professional reviewer/previewer by any stretch. I'm just a guy who got to play a game and wanted to share some info about it. I can try to answer questions, but your best bet is to reach out to the designer

Darrell Louder
United States
Dover
Delaware
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb

I tried to type up a summary of game play, but my recollection is starting to get fuzzy and I don't want to do the game any injustice, so please don't judge the game solely on my description below.

The basics are you have compound cards face up, with color-coded element spots and a spot for a claim marker. Each compound card has a point value, and a skill indicator to let you know which of your base skills you'll be able to increase as a result of completing the compound, as well as icons for the items you can collect for completing them. Some compounds let you become "Head Scientist" who acts first the next round, or allow you to get "grants" which let you increase one of your skills and makes you increase a skill of one of your competitors.

You randomly draw elements from a bag, storing them on your player board until you get the chance to start placing them on compounds. You can trade elements between players, as well as items, and even placement of elements ("If you place a Sulfur on my compound, I'll put two Hydrogens on yours) The available elements are Hydrogen, Nitrogen, Oxygen, Calcium, Carbon, and Sulfur. Each one has a different amount available in the supply, Hydrogen being the most available.