GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
9,413 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
17 Days Left

Support:

Andrew Klotz
United States
Gresham
Oregon
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
So I am fairly new to Runebound and have been posting around over in the forums for the core game, but I just bought Frozen Wastes and ran my first game with it today. It was so close, it could have gone either way within only 1 roll!

My experience was that it's definitely a different game than the core game, which was exciting. I was worried it was just going to feel the same, but with new items, but it ran entirely different. Even down to the fact that the game was a much different experience between me and my brother even during the same game!

I drew Arvel Worldwalker and he drew Shiver. It's really odd because then when I came to post here, I see there's already a thread with these two involved!

We played mainly vanilla rules, but we do allow multiple armors of different types, though you can only activate one at a time. We also run with graduated leveling. 1XP for the first, 2 for the 2nd, etc. Knockouts lose the most expensive item/ally. And I have Relics of Legend in the Market Stack. I thiiink that's all the mods we ran for this round.

I decided to start way in the south at Saragart while Shiver started in Verjak. Most of the game was spent wandering around the southern end of the board, visiting town to clear the frost, and just fighting and leveling. It was a pretty straightforward game through most of it. Fights went smoothly, and leveling was underway. We ended up clearing out almost all of the challenges and were running out since we weren't pulling events.