GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
9,184 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
18 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Descent: The Well of Darkness» Forums » Rules

Subject: Boulder question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Spiros Fousteris
Greece
Moschato
Athens
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hello,

Page 5 in the rulebook it says
'Boulders roll across pits unless the boulder moves completely
into the pit....If a boulder moves completely into a pit, it falls in.'


The pit token covers one space.The boulder token covers 4 spaces.
How can the boulder move completely into the pit?

Unless the boulder covers one space ( despite of the token being 4 spaces big) or there are four pits abjacent to each other forming a pit big enough for the boulder to fall in.

Am i missing something here?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Johannes Albani
Germany
Achern
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
One of the Expansions comes wich a huge pit tile, if i recall correctly, so the boulder can crash into that one!
But you are correct, if there are four pit spaces which form a 2x2 square, then the boulder can fall in there.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Spiros Fousteris
Greece
Moschato
Athens
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi Johannes,

Yes,there are big enough pits that the boulder can fall completely inside,
even though i think that they are created with the 1 space tiles and the 2 space tiles and not a 4 space one.

So unless there is a big enough pit,heroes shouldn't worry too much.

But on the other hand,if the overlord can't place traps( in this case pits) adjacent to each other,how can a big enough pit be created?

I remember only 1 scenario that uses a premade big pit.

So,getting crushed while in a pit is not a big deal right ?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Corbon Loughnan
Indonesia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
madspyron wrote:
Hello,

Page 5 in the rulebook it says
'Boulders roll across pits unless the boulder moves completely
into the pit....If a boulder moves completely into a pit, it falls in.'


The pit token covers one space.The boulder token covers 4 spaces.
How can the boulder move completely into the pit?

Unless the boulder covers one space ( despite of the token being 4 spaces big) or there are four pits abjacent to each other forming a pit big enough for the boulder to fall in.

Am i missing something here? :) :)


All adjacent pits spaces form one large pit. So 4x 1space pits in a 2x2 formation will 'swallow' a boulder.

And spiked pits can be played adjacent to other pits, though it is unlikely to make much difference.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.