GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
9,705 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
16 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Tournay» Forums » Rules

Subject: Character order of operations rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jon
United States
Redmond
Washington
flag msg tools
Plaatsvervangende Schaamte
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
Hi -

Played my first game of this the other night, and we have a question we couldn't find an answer to in the rules.

If I activate a building that triggers a character, do I resolve the building before resolving the character, or am I free to choose? For example - if I trigger a character that gives money, can I use that money to pay a cost associated with the activated building?

We played it that the building had to be resolved before resolving the character.

Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
sébastien dujardin
Belgium
Grandmetz
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
JonPrud wrote:
Hi -

Played my first game of this the other night, and we have a question we couldn't find an answer to in the rules.

If I activate a building that triggers a character, do I resolve the building before resolving the character, or am I free to choose? For example - if I trigger a character that gives money, can I use that money to pay a cost associated with the activated building?

We played it that the building had to be resolved before resolving the character.

Thanks!


Hello,

You're right, you have to resolve the building before resolving the character.

Seb
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jon
United States
Redmond
Washington
flag msg tools
Plaatsvervangende Schaamte
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
sebduj wrote:


Hello,

You're right, you have to resolve the building before resolving the character.

Seb


Cool, thanks! Like the game, can't see a problem getting it to the game table several more times!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Douglas Tsoi
Hong Kong
Hong Kong
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I have another question regarding the order of operations. Here is the situation.
- I activate Library, a building that allows me to draw two level II cards.
- A Town Crier is drawn and I continue to draw up to two cards and add to my hand.
- On the same row of the Library, I have the Character card Journeyman which should give me 2 deniers when I activate the Library.
- I have 0 deniers in hand and one of the event cards would take me 1 denier.

The question is what should be the correct order of operation?
A. Building -> Event -> Character
B. Building -> Character ->Event

For A, I would have 2 deniers at the end of my turn.
For B, I would only have 1 denier.

Which one should be the correct order? Thanks for the help in advance.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Hammock Backpacker
United States
Columbus
Ohio
flag msg tools
Hot Coffee...Mmmmmm
badge
Go Take A Hike!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
dougts wrote:
I have another question regarding the order of operations. Here is the situation.
- I activate Library, a building that allows me to draw two level II cards.
- A Town Crier is drawn and I continue to draw up to two cards and add to my hand.
- On the same row of the Library, I have the Character card Journeyman which should give me 2 deniers when I activate the Library.
- I have 0 deniers in hand and one of the event cards would take me 1 denier.

The question is what should be the correct order of operation?
A. Building -> Event -> Character
B. Building -> Character ->Event

For A, I would have 2 deniers at the end of my turn.
For B, I would only have 1 denier.

Which one should be the correct order? Thanks for the help in advance.


Answered here: http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/855275/event-or-characte...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.