GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
8,804 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
19 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Rex: Final Days of an Empire» Forums » Rules

Subject: Xxcha racial advantage (turning units face down) question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
piri kou
France
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hello,

I'm unsure of how this power works :
- Does it work for one unit or as many as the player want?
- Is is possible to use it on every spaces of the borad or only when balltles you're involved in happends?
- Once an unit is face down, the only way to use it again is using the power again, right?
- Edit : can I have both face up and face down units in the same space?

Thanks by advance for any intel
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tiago Nunes
Portugal
Odivelas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You can flip (up or down) how many you want at the start of the battle phase (before any battles occur) even if you are not participating in any battle.

All Xxcha units in a single space must have the same face, if a situation occurs where this does not happen you must flip them to the same face at the beginning of the next battle phase.

You cannot turn units face up in a space where an ally is.

Hope that covers all the questions.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
piri kou
France
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ghosthack wrote:
Hope that covers all the questions.


More and faster than I was even hoping for. Thank you very much !

1 
 Thumb up
0.02
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Travis Dean
United States
Escondido
CA
flag msg tools
The Golden Camel UberBadge is a mystery. Nobody knows where it came from or how it got there.
badge
No one expects the Spanish penguin!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ghosthack wrote:
You cannot turn units face up in a space where an ally is.


In fact, face down units can't co-exist in a space where an ally is. I asked FFG this explicitly (even though everything I believe in should say this is legal), and they said it's not allowed. They then put this in the FAQ:

FAQ wrote:
Q: Can facedown Xxcha units exist in the same space as an allied units?
A: No. Units can never coexist in the same space as an allied player's units.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Lewis
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
NFHS Football & Basketball
badge
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Dolus wrote:
ghosthack wrote:
You cannot turn units face up in a space where an ally is.


In fact, face down units can't co-exist in a space where an ally is. I asked FFG this explicitly (even though everything I believe in should say this is legal), and they said it's not allowed. They then put this in the FAQ:

FAQ wrote:
Q: When the Xxcha player deploys units, can he deploy these units facedown?
A: No. The Xxcha player must deploy his units faceup.

That FAQ question doesn't (in and of itself) say that they can't coexist, just that they can't be directly deployed into such coexistence.

Of course, if they said that coexistence isn't allowed via email, that's another story


EDIT: Redacted, based on edit to above post
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Travis Dean
United States
Escondido
CA
flag msg tools
The Golden Camel UberBadge is a mystery. Nobody knows where it came from or how it got there.
badge
No one expects the Spanish penguin!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
@Scott,

Sorry, copied the wrong FAQ question. They were right next to each other. I fixed my post.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tiago Nunes
Portugal
Odivelas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I had looked in the FAQ but did not see errata to correct this:

Rulebook page 22 wrote:
Xxcha units may only be turned faceup or facedown at the start of the Battle Phase. Facedown units cannot be turned faceup if an allied player’s units are present in the same area.


Though now I looked in the FAQ and saw the question you posted:
FAQ page 2 wrote:
Q: Can facedown Xxcha units exist in the same space as an allied units?
A: No. Units can never coexist in the same space as an allied player's units.



So it's not errata but this question contradicts a rule from the rulebook. Nice going FFG

(I'm not questioning you Travis, I'm just saying it's weird the way they issued errata to this. Though I do like the rule as it is stated in the FAQ as it makes things simpler.)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Travis Dean
United States
Escondido
CA
flag msg tools
The Golden Camel UberBadge is a mystery. Nobody knows where it came from or how it got there.
badge
No one expects the Spanish penguin!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I agree I think it's weird they issued errata to this, and I don't like it. It makes many things difficult.

If you happen to be co-existing with a player when a temporary ceasefire comes up, you are disallowed from entering into an alliance with that player.

If you are co-existing on a stronghold with an opposing force, your allies can't attempt to enter the stronghold to steal it away.

The errata creates some major disadvantages for the Xxcha.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.