Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Through the Ages: A Story of Civilization» Forums » Rules

Subject: Resolving Event cards durign Age IV rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Michal Marcinkowski
Poland
LuboĊ„
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Am I missing something or will the last player lose every tie during final resolution of Event Cards ?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
M.C.Crispy
United Kingdom
Basingstoke
Hampshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
yup, that's about the size of it - so make sure you're ahead

It's not a huge risk, because there aren't so many of "the weakest play takes grief" type of events in Age IV because people have usually been loading up with "impact of..." But it's a pisser when it does happen.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Simon Kamber
Denmark
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
m1sha wrote:
Am I missing something or will the last player lose every tie during final resolution of Event Cards ?


He will, yes.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David desJardins
United States
Burlingame
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
mccrispy wrote:
It's not a huge risk, because there aren't so many of "the weakest play takes grief" type of events in Age IV


You don't perform those Events at the end of the game, anyway, even if they are in the Future Events pile. You only do the Age III Events.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
M.C.Crispy
United Kingdom
Basingstoke
Hampshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
DaviddesJ wrote:
mccrispy wrote:
It's not a huge risk, because there aren't so many of "the weakest play takes grief" type of events in Age IV


You don't perform those Events at the end of the game, anyway, even if they are in the Future Events pile. You only do the Age III Events.
You're correct that they don't get resolved at the end of the last turn, but that doesn't mean that they don't get resolved in Age IV. Age IV can have several Political Phases occur.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Brosius
United States
Needham Heights
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
My favorite 18xx game for six players is two games of 1846 with three players each.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Remember that the last player gets the opportunity to fine-tune his or her stats for the Age III scoring cards. So if there's a card that pays for the highest science rating, you can just get one more than your opponent (who went before you in the turn order.) The people who go early have much less control. So it only seems reasonable to award ties to the person who goes earlier.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Bradshaw
United Kingdom
Newcastle Upon Tyne
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
m1sha wrote:
Am I missing something or will the last player lose every tie during final resolution of Event Cards ?


"Both" would be more precise then "every". "Every tie" sounds like many but there are only two possible ties (for Science and Strength) among the Impact cards, which are the only cards resolved during "final resolution". So the last player loses both possible ties. I've never seen a game where the players were tied for both, and as has been pointed out, the player going last may well have the chance (given the necessary resources and techs etc) to make sure s/he scores high enough to break a tie.

So the idea that the last player will "lose every tie" is nowhere near as serious as might be implied from the original question.

By "final resolution" I assume you're referring to the game end scoring, although the thread title refers to "during" Age IV. If "during" is what was meant, then the resolution of events in Age IV, and the ruling on ties, is of course, no different to any other phase of the game.



5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David desJardins
United States
Burlingame
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
mccrispy wrote:
You're correct that they don't get resolved at the end of the last turn, but that doesn't mean that they don't get resolved in Age IV.


It does mean that they don't get resolved during final event resolution and therefore the last player doesn't automatically lose ties (it depends whose turn it is) and therefore the whole premise of the question and thread doesn't apply to those events.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
M.C.Crispy
United Kingdom
Basingstoke
Hampshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
DaviddesJ wrote:
mccrispy wrote:
You're correct that they don't get resolved at the end of the last turn, but that doesn't mean that they don't get resolved in Age IV.


It does mean that they don't get resolved during final event resolution and therefore the last player doesn't automatically lose ties (it depends whose turn it is) and therefore the whole premise of the question and thread doesn't apply to those events.
Yup, got it. Overlooked the significance of the phrase "during final resolution of Event Cards"
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.