Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Cyclades» Forums » Rules

Subject: Harbor defensive bonus rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Nicola Gambetti
Italy
Bolzano
flag msg tools
designer
And plastic for the Plastic Throne!
badge
No! This is not a board game, but Stanislao Moulinsky in one of his best disguises!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I know this question may sound banal but, after many games, yesterday for the first time we had a dispute about the +1 bonus the harbor gives to sea battles.

In the same turn he prayed to Poseidon, a player built a harbor on one of his isles and then moved his fleet to attack an opponent’s ship, which was adjacent to the attacking player’s harbored isle: was the harbor’s +1 bonus active in that situation?

After some arguing, we ruled it wasn’t, since the harbor’s description states «the Port gives a defensive bonus» and that player wasn’t defending but attacking.

Nonetheless, the doubt remains: in your opinion did we rule correctly or the harbor’d defensive bonus can be used anytime a ship attack another ship in a space adjacent to the harbored isle?
I haven’t found any help in the FAQ or in the forum.
Thank you!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
P. oeppel
Germany
Berlin
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
As you stated, it is a defensive bonus only and it is only granted to the player owning the harbor (when he is attacked).

8 
 Thumb up
0.02
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nicola Gambetti
Italy
Bolzano
flag msg tools
designer
And plastic for the Plastic Throne!
badge
No! This is not a board game, but Stanislao Moulinsky in one of his best disguises!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
pinoeppel wrote:
As you stated, it is a defensive bonus only and it is only granted to the player owning the harbor (when he is attacked).

Thank you very much for your reply!
Good to know we didn't make it wrong!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.