Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Sky Traders» Forums » Rules

Subject: Does Quartermaster count as your one Crew during combat? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Anthony Rubbo
United States
Philadelphia
PA
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Does Quartermaster count as your one crew member that you may use during combat, or is his just an ongoing passive ability, meaning you could have a die modifying crew member, in addition to the protection he gives?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Finland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
He doesn't give you any bonus in combat, so it's all the same you if use him in combat or not. You can always roll the combat die without modifiers even if you don't have any crewman modifying the result.

The ability is passive, it works allways in addition to the combat crew man( if you use one).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Anthony Rubbo
United States
Philadelphia
PA
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
But he does give you a bonus in combat - he allows you a chance of not getting hit...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Leland Gross
United States
Moore
Oklahoma
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
RoadHouse wrote:


The ability is passive, it works allways in addition to the combat crew man( if you use one).


Sorry to question but where does it say that that ability is passive and works along with the Rallied Crew? Do you have a page and paragraph for that? Because I read it as quite the opposite. As in if you want to use that ability you have to Rally the Quartermaster instead of another crew memeber to utilize that ability -
(Per Pg. 21 Rally Crew / Roll Combat Die / Damage)

They even go so far as to Highlight the ONE in the "attacker selects one crew member" rule.

We had this question come up in our last game as the player thought he could use both but we determined he could not. Especially as it would have made his +3 FirstMate airship very hard to deal with so for balance reasons alone you should only use one (as it states in the rules).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Finland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
staticelf wrote:
RoadHouse wrote:


The ability is passive, it works allways in addition to the combat crew man( if you use one).


Sorry to question but where does it say that that ability is passive and works along with the Rallied Crew? Do you have a page and paragraph for that? Because I read it as quite the opposite. As in if you want to use that ability you have to Rally the Quartermaster instead of another crew memeber to utilize that ability -
(Per Pg. 21 Rally Crew / Roll Combat Die / Damage)

They even go so far as to Highlight the ONE in the "attacker selects one crew member" rule.

We had this question come up in our last game as the player thought he could use both but we determined he could not. Especially as it would have made his +3 FirstMate airship very hard to deal with so for balance reasons alone you should only use one (as it states in the rules).

Unless the +2 combat skyman(which costs 30 GP like the Quartermaster) is out of stock and you can't afford the +3 combat First Mate(or it's out of stock) then it makes absolutely no sense to buy the Quartermaster, if you calculate the probabilities of winning a battle against +2 or +3 combat crewmen. The 1st spot seems to be also the place for other specialist, so you can't have everything in your ship.

Everybody is allowed to buy First Mates and Quartermasters, so I don't see any problem.

There are many things that the rulebook doesn't cover accurately. Of course everybody can play the game as he or she likes. You might be right, who knows, the designer hasn't really answered any rules questions.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kai Wootton
United Kingdom
Clevedon
North Somerset
flag msg tools
I agree, the rules aren't 100% clear on this one so it will be down to an individual gaming group to rule how works best for them until such times as a FAQ may clarify, even then groups will probably stick to the way that works for them.

Not tried it all properly yet, however my perception was that the Quartermaster is a "reactive" specialist (as he seems to fit with hold 1 mainly being specialist crew ie marketeer) so an always on ability.

From the rules point of view, although the Ralley Crew step says select "one" crew, the combat roll step does specify "add the combat modifier of the selected crew member", the Quartermaster doesn't modify a combat roll, just gives you a chance to avoid hits. Reading his card it merely specifies "Each time your Skyship is hit" which gives it a passive ability sound.

It of sure about the "balance" referred to above as although there is the combat there it doesn't seem the main focus of the game and hold space is precious, more crew for combat leaves less space for cargo so only a more likely scenario if you are after some serious bounty rewards!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Finland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Everybody needs some crewman to protect your shipment that one guy just can't start to stemroll all over the board. The men in slots 3-6 are sufficent protection. The Quartermaster would only be one combat guy more and a last effort once your better crewmen have died.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.