Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Castle Panic: The Wizard's Tower» Forums » Rules

Subject: Monster Resolution: Serial or Parallel? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Alex Eaton-Salners
United States
Lake Forest
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
During the Move Monsters phase are the three monster actions (move, damage/remove walls and towers, breathe fire) resolved serially for each monster or in parallel?

For example, what is the outcome of this scenario:

Monster A is moving into a wall in Arc X.
Monster B is moving in Arc X and breathing fire.

Can the players choose to have Monster B move first and breathe fire on the wall and then have Monster A destroy the wall?

Or, do both monsters move, Monster A destroys the wall, and then Monster B breathes fire?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Justin De Witt
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi Alex,

Good question. In that example there isn't any official order to the resolution, so it's entirely player choice. We find that a lot of players tend to move the "regular" monsters first, since they are easier to resolve, and then move the Chimera or roll for the Dragon afterwards.

Keep in mind that in your example if you went with the first option, Monster A would take no damage from destroying the wall, but he will be on fire. In your second option you may have a tower on fire, but Monster A will be down 1 health point.

Not great either way, but two very different results.
Justin
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dean Petters
United States
Ohio
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
jeston wrote:
Hi Alex,

Good question. In that example there isn't any official order to the resolution, so it's entirely player choice. We find that a lot of players tend to move the "regular" monsters first, since they are easier to resolve, and then move the Chimera or roll for the Dragon afterwards.

Keep in mind that in your example if you went with the first option, Monster A would take no damage from destroying the wall, but he will be on fire. In your second option you may have a tower on fire, but Monster A will be down 1 health point.

Not great either way, but two very different results.
Justin


I thought monsters didn't set monsters on fire?

http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/825405/do-the-chimera-and-dr...
Quote:
Hey gang,

I thought I'd jump in here and help out. Jason has it right. Fireballs that are generated by the Chimera and Dragon do not damage other Monsters. It's meant to show that these Mega Boss Monsters are smart enough to not blast their own troops into ash. It doesn't matter if it happens when the monster is first drawn, or when it moves, it always works the same.

Justin

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Hurd
United States
Gordon
Nebraska
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The reason the monster would be on fire in the first example is because he destroyed a burning wall. He takes no damage from the destruction of the burning wall itself (as he would have with a regular wall), but the monster does catch fire instead... subsequently taking a point of damage at the end of the monster movement phase.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephen Michael Hickey
New Zealand
Auckland
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The official answer is clearly stated above as an option.

However, for the sake of clarity and consistency, we have chosen to resolve the order of movement of each monster as follows:

Arc 1 first to Arc 6 last and within each Arc, the monsters that are nearest the castle first (Swordsman, Knight, Archer then Forest).

Only when there are multiple monster tokens in the same space, will the active player get an option to choose which of those should be resolved first.

When there are lots of monsters on the board it's easy to lose sight of which ones have moved unless you adopt something similar to the above method.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.