Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Macao» Forums » Rules

Subject: Buying Prestige Points Question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ryan Gunther
Canada
Coquitlam
British Columbia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
When buying prestige points the rules say you can only execute the action once per turn, but when you do execute it can you buy as many as you can afford, or just 1 "transaction". For example, if the exchange rate is 1 to 3 can you just spend 1 gold to buy 3 points, or say if you had 3 gold could you spend all 3 to buy 9 points?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
rgunther wrote:
When buying prestige points the rules say you can only execute the action once per turn, but when you do execute it can you buy as many as you can afford, or just 1 "transaction". For example, if the exchange rate is 1 to 3 can you just spend 1 gold to buy 3 points, or say if you had 3 gold could you spend all 3 to buy 9 points?

One transaction. So if it is 1 to 3, you can only spend 1 gold an no more.

Some cards let you do this twice.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ryan Gunther
Canada
Coquitlam
British Columbia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks, that's how we played it. Happy to know we played it correctly.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Loren Cadelinia
United States
Sacramento
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, otherwise players would hoard all the gold until the rate was good to purchase points and just make a 1 or 2 transactions total.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Skaufel
Sweden
Stockholm
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sorry to hijack this thread, but I have a question in the same topic.
In the rules there is an example where the rate is 3 to 6. Does this mean that the only thing I can do is pay 3 GC for 6 PP, or can I for example pay 2 GC for 4 PP or 4 GC for 8 PP?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Schaeffer
United States
Unspecified
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
skullflame wrote:
Sorry to hijack this thread, but I have a question in the same topic.
In the rules there is an example where the rate is 3 to 6. Does this mean that the only thing I can do is pay 3 GC for 6 PP, or can I for example pay 2 GC for 4 PP or 4 GC for 8 PP?


Just 3 GC for 6 PP.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Skaufel
Sweden
Stockholm
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James
United States
Fort Polk
Louisiana
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think the rulebook introduced confusion by using terms like "Exchange Rate".

It might better be called the Bribery Track, or similar.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.