Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

War of the Ring (First Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: WK an immortal Nazgul? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mandos Namo
msg tools
Im new to the game, so appologies if my qestion is simpel.

If the WK is killed can he be put in play immediatly again with the use of a muster die?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Moshe Callen
Israel
Jerusalem
flag msg tools
designer
ἄνδρα μοι ἔννεπε, μοῦσα, πολύτροπον, ὃς μάλα πολλὰ/ πλάγχθη, ἐπεὶ Τροίης ἱερὸν πτολίεθρον ἔπερσεν./...
badge
μῆνιν ἄειδε θεὰ Πηληϊάδεω Ἀχιλῆος/ οὐλομένην, ἣ μυρί᾽ Ἀχαιοῖς ἄλγε᾽ ἔθηκε,/...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Mandosen wrote:
Im new to the game, so appologies if my qestion is simpel.

If the WK is killed can he be put in play immediatly again with the use of a muster die?


No, he is not.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kristofer Bengtsson
Sweden
Kävlinge
flag msg tools
designer
War of the Ring: Official FAQ Master! Webmaster of www.warofthering.eu Author of the War of the Ring Companion
badge
- This is My Hour!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
All Minions (including the Witch-king) are out of the game if eliminated/killed.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mandos Namo
msg tools
Thanks for clearing that so quickly!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jay P

Alexandria
Virginia
msg tools
To add an anecdote to the question...seek out the FP event card with the combat effect "Blade of Westernesse" and contemplate the power of a Hobbit surrounded by a proper size army with lots of leadership.

Then contemplate the broad scope of the effect's thematic depth.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Moshe Callen
Israel
Jerusalem
flag msg tools
designer
ἄνδρα μοι ἔννεπε, μοῦσα, πολύτροπον, ὃς μάλα πολλὰ/ πλάγχθη, ἐπεὶ Τροίης ἱερὸν πτολίεθρον ἔπερσεν./...
badge
μῆνιν ἄειδε θεὰ Πηληϊάδεω Ἀχιλῆος/ οὐλομένην, ἣ μυρί᾽ Ἀχαιοῖς ἄλγε᾽ ἔθηκε,/...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
PapaGamer wrote:
To add an anecdote to the question...seek out the FP event card with the combat effect "Blade of Westernesse" and contemplate the power of a Hobbit surrounded by a proper size army with lots of leadership.

Then contemplate the broad scope of the effect's thematic depth.

Remember also that the Witch King is killed in the book. So if this could not happen in the game, there would be a problem.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Reeves
Canada
York
Ontario
flag msg tools
whac3 wrote:
PapaGamer wrote:
To add an anecdote to the question...seek out the FP event card with the combat effect "Blade of Westernesse" and contemplate the power of a Hobbit surrounded by a proper size army with lots of leadership.

Then contemplate the broad scope of the effect's thematic depth.

Remember also that the Witch King is killed in the book. So if this could not happen in the game, there would be a problem.


SPOILERS!
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jay P

Alexandria
Virginia
msg tools
whac3 wrote:
PapaGamer wrote:
To add an anecdote to the question...seek out the FP event card with the combat effect "Blade of Westernesse" and contemplate the power of a Hobbit surrounded by a proper size army with lots of leadership.

Then contemplate the broad scope of the effect's thematic depth.

Remember also that the Witch King is killed in the book. So if this could not happen in the game, there would be a problem.


My main point was the "broad scope" and the "thematic depth".

The scope is broad in that the effect can apply to ANY battle with the Witch King and any hobbit. So it just doesn't play out at the battle of Minas Tirith, but can play out anywhere!

Now for the thematic depth. The blade (card effect), by itself, is not sufficient. It takes a leader... a hero...it's a combo kill. That's why the effect is based on the leader re-roll. The more leadership you have, the better the chance of pulling it off. The big battle, with a leader at the right place at right time.

It's these gems of design that are often overlooked in the pace of the game that make this game so great at a higher level. The designers didn't just pull the leader re-roll condition out of the air. It was obviously an explicit decision to reflect the leader's role (pun intended) in the kill.

And while I'm here, let's talk strategic depth and asymmetric depth. From a strategic standpoint it makes the SP player think twice before using the Witch King when attacking a strong FP army with lots of leadership and a Hobbit in defense. So the real threat and the bluff are viable strategies. Asymmetrically, note the event effect of the Blade of Westernesse card is Mithril Coat and Sting. A very good Frodo protect card; a game winner in some instances. So the card has two very powerful effects, one for battle and one for staving off corruption. But you can only use it for one!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.