Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Betrayal at House on the Hill» Forums » Rules

Subject: Stunned monsters... rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jeremy Knutson
United States
Alexandria
VA - Virginia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There seems to be some discrepancy about what happens to a monster when it is stunned. Can anyone describe in detail, clearly, all the negative implications to a monster when it is stunned? (Items, movement, attacking, etc.)

Also, a monster is stunned until its next turn, then it is turned right side up again, correct?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Randall
United States
Phoenix
Arizona
flag msg tools
I'm far from an expert, but a stunned monster should be affected the same way a stunned hero is...unless the haunt specifies otherwise.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Z
Australia
Rockhampton
QLD
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
When a monster is stunned:

Flip over its token to the S side.

It no longer counts as an impediment to player movement.

When that monsters turn comes around again all it can do is turn back over to the monster picture side. It cannot move, it cannot attack.
In effect it misses a turn, and that's pretty much it.


There is no benefit to stunning a creature again while it is stunned. It is already stunned nothing worse can happen to it.

Also heroes do not get stunned.

---

As a general rule monsters do not carry items, so look to haunt-specific rules regarding this.

And as always haunt specific rules trump normal rules.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Karasu Gamma
msg tools
zayzayem wrote:
There is no benefit to stunning a creature again while it is stunned. It is already stunned nothing worse can happen to it.
This is true except in situations where the heroes have a weapon/ability to kill monsters instead of stunning them, but a hero without that weapon/ability stunned them first. Heroes can still attack stunned monsters, and the hero takes no damage if the monster wins. If a stunned monster is attacked and defeated by a hero with the power to kill, it is still killed.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.