Recommend
6 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Amateurs to Arms!» Forums » Sessions

Subject: A Solo Game: July-August 1813 rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Paul Borchers
United States
Keller
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
American Hand:

#11 Momentary Incompetence (4)
#15 Stung by a Wasp! (4)
#20 Bermuda Privateers (4)
#22 Thar She Blows! (3)
#26 Unrest in Lower Canada (5)
#38 Militia Fear of Indians (1)
#48 New England Thriftiness (2)
#73 Council of Your Fears (2)
#108 A Hero Arises (3)
#122 “A Mere Matter of Marching” (3)

saved from the previous turn: #65 “Don’t Give Up the Ship” (2)

British Hand:

#8 Minor Campaign (3)
#62 Ambush (3)
#63 Ambush (4)
#90 Confusion at the Top (5)
#95 Jean Lafitte (3)
#118 “Those are Regulars, by God!” (1)

saved from the previous turn: #47 New England Thriftiness (2)

American Round 1: Play #48 New England Thriftiness (2) for Operations points to activate Pike, who takes 1 Militia from Expedition H and forms Expedition L. He moves to Cincinnati to pick up the Militia there, and uses river movement along the Ohio to move to Zanesville.

British Round 1: Pass for now, given the disparity in cards. Confusion at the top will be a good card to play as an Event, the question being is it better near the beginning or end of the turn.

American Round 2: Play #22 Thar She Blows! (3) for Operations points to activate Pike once again, using river movement to go to Pittsburgh, then to Presque Isle. Boerstler will be in command as he has an activation value of 1, but Pike can contribute his 2 tactical rating.



British Round 2: With that long bit of marching, the Americans are planning for an offensive on Lake Erie. The British now play #90 Confusion at the Top (5) as an Event, and force two cards to be discarded from the American hand. #15 Stung by a Wasp! (4) and #122 “A Mere Matter of Marching” (3) are now gone.

American Round 3: Undaunted, the Americans press ahead. Play #38 Militia Fear of Indians (1) for Operations points, activating Boerstler (with Pike) and 2 Regulars and 3 Militia in Expedition G. The target is Amherstburg, and the Militia pass the roll to cross the border. The Americans now play #11 Momentary Incompetence (4) to knock DeSalaberry’s tactical rating down to one. As the British have an Indian unit in their Expedition, they play #62 Ambush (3) to get a free initial shot at the Americans. The roll is a 2 on the 1-5 table and the 1 tactical column, which produces a “0”, so the Americans are lucky. Both sides roll on the 1-5 table, but the Americans have a 2 tactical rating to the current 1 for the British. The net die roll modifier for the Americans is +1 (+2 for Lake Control, -1 for Militia – maybe 1 should have stayed back). The final roll for the Americans produces a “2”, while the British result is a “0”. The British eliminate their Indian and Militia units, but do not have to retreat. The Americans return across the lake for now. No Peace track moves result.

British Round 3: Play #118 “Those are Regulars, by God!” (1) for Operations points to recruit 2 Indians in Amherstburg, placing a “Troops Raised” marker there as well.

American Round 4: Taking full advantage of Lake Movement this time, the Americans isolate Amherstburg before the attack. Play #73 Council of Your Fears (2) for Operations points to activate Boerstler and Pike (Expedition G). Taking 2 Regulars and 3 Militia with them (who pass their roll), they move directly across Erie to Mountain Town, making the space American-controlled, then to Detroit to remove the British marker. They sail back to Presque Isle (making it the last space entered) before attacking Amherstburg. The British now play #63 Ambush (4),giving them a free attack with their 2 Indians on the 1-5 table, and this time their leader has his full 3 tactical value. The roll of 5 produces a “2**”, meaning both Regulars are eliminated and the Americans must retreat to Presque Isle before their attack.



British Round 4: As they have three cards versus the Americans’ four, the British pass.
American Round 5: Shifting fronts, the Americans now play #20 Bermuda Privateers (4) for Operations points to activate Izard in Albany (Expedition K). Using Lake Movement, they attack Ile aux Noix. The British raise 3 Local Militia to supplement their 2 Militia and 2 Regulars. The British will roll on the 6-10 table with a -1 modifier and a 2 tactical rating (Vincent), while the Americans roll on the 1-5 table with a 1 tactical rating and +2 to the roll for control of the lake. The Americans play #108 A Hero Arises (3) as a Reaction, shifting their tactical modifier to the 3 column. The British roll a 1, causing 1 loss, while the Americans roll a 9, producing a “4***”. The level 1 fort changes this to 3 losses (which must be non-Militia if possible), and two asterisks as a retreat result. The Americans remove 1 Regular (no Militia present); the British remove their 2 Regulars, 1 Local Militia and the fort. The British retreat. As the Americans rolled two more asterisks than the British, it’s a major victory that moves the British Peace marker 1 space forward. The British retreat to Chateauguay, the Americans destroy the port facilities in Ile aux Noix, and the British Champlain Expedition is forced to face the American Champlain Expedition on the lake. It’s a win-or-sink situation for the British as they have no other anchorages on the lake.





The British actually have one more ship than the Americans; the extra gunboat will accompany their Brig. The brigs duel first; both sides add seven to their rolls. The Americans win by 1, so both the brig and the gunboat withdraw. Next, an American gunboat fights the British schooner. Both sides add three to their rolls, but it doesn’t matter as the Americans roll a 9 to the British 3. The schooner is captured. The remaining gunboats fight, with the Americans having a 1 advantage to their roll. This gunboat is also captured. The Withdrawn ships are considered sunk so the Americans have won the fight for Champlain. It is not considered a major victory for Peace track moves, as the British strength lost was nine points.

British Round 5: This offensive leaves the British weakened in lower Canada. Expedition G could gamble on circling behind Ile aux Noix via Four Corners and attacking American Expedition K from Plattsburg, trapping them as St. Albans is still British-controlled for now. This is risky as the British have nothing but Militia, and they would have to roll to cross the border and be successful against the Americans in combat. The British don’t have enough Operations points to activate the force in Montreal. Expedition G could pick up the 2 Regulars in Quebec and then attack Ile aux Noix, but it would not be from the direction of Plattsburg. Lastly, the British could simply raise troops and counterattack next turn, or simply count on holding off the American as the British won’t be able to reclaim Lake Champlain before winter. The British play #95 Jean Lafitte (3) for Operations, raising 2 Fencibles in Quebec and drawing a leader (Drummond) to form Expedition H there.

American Round 6: Play #65 “Don’t Give Up the Ship” (2) for Operations. Activate Expedition I (McArthur) at Vergennes, and move first to St. Albans to make the American position in Canada more secure, then move to Plattsburg.

British Round 6: The Americans just gave the British a chance to play #47 New England Thriftiness (2) a an Event, which lets them draw two cards and play any card in their hand. The British draw #127 Army Promotions (3) and #150 Samuel Smith (2). Given the break in the action and their temporary advantage in cards, the British play #127 Army Promotions (3) for Operations points to place a Military blockade in the South Atlantic. The British will want to convert these to Full Blockades quickly in 1814 to earn Peace track moves against the Americans.

American Round 7: Pass for now, so that they can play their last card right before the British do.

British Round 7: Play #150 Samuel Smith (2) for Operations points to build 2 Fencibles in York.

American Round 8: Play #26 Unrest in Lower Canada (5) as an Event. All the British troops in Lower Canada are in Expeditions D, G, and H. They total just eight points, and only three are Regulars, so the British Peace marker moves one space forward. The loss at Ile aux Noix makes this event work for the Americans.

British Round 8: Play #8 Minor Campaign (3) for Operations points. The British can move 2 Regulars out of Kingston (Expedition C) who move to Chateauguay (joining Expedition G), for a the cost of two Operations points. The lone Regular in York moves to Kingston. British manpower is getting stretched.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin McPartland
United States
Jessup
Maryland
flag msg tools
designer
Oliver Hazard Perry leader counter from Amateurs, To Arms! by Clash of Arms Games.
badge
Warrior Band counter for Conquest of Paradise by GMT Games.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Great stuff, Paul! Thanks for posting. One item:

Quote:
The roll of 5 produces a “2**”, meaning both Regulars are eliminated and the Americans must retreat to Presque Isle before their attack.

Move the American Peace Track marker forward one space; the British have won a Major Victory by gaining two more asterisks than the Americans. No, the Americans didn't get a chance to even roll, but that was one heck of a successful ambush! Makes up for the failed first ambush. (Can you imagine the American player: "You've got another ambush card?!") The Indians were clearly very successful, surrounding and forcing the surrender of the American regulars, while the militia barely slipped away. Very damaging to the nation's morale.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Borchers
United States
Keller
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Okay, will do - good catch. I assumed the leader's tactical modifier applied to ambushes, and that was a large part of their success this second time.

Would the Momentary Incompetence affect the leader's tactical modifier in the first ambush, or is that Reaction card good for just the battle (or only the ambush or the battle)? I think the roll was too low for it to matter.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin McPartland
United States
Jessup
Maryland
flag msg tools
designer
Oliver Hazard Perry leader counter from Amateurs, To Arms! by Clash of Arms Games.
badge
Warrior Band counter for Conquest of Paradise by GMT Games.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, the best leader's tactical rating counts in ambushes, as you assumed. He's considered to be out there leading the ambush.

And yes, you got the Momentary Incompetence card right, too: it applies to the ambush, and then, if the combat is not stopped, it applies then, too.

Kevin
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.