Marco Rosenberg
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi all,

I was just wondering... what does it happen if no
enemy engages me (encounter phase)? Does the combat phase
occur anyway? In this case Goblin sniper shoots one of
my characters but if there is no phase... good for me!

What do you think?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Duke Of Lizards
United States
Montpelier
Vermont
flag msg tools
I am a breathing time machine
badge
We're all in this together, and we love to take a bath!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm afraid every stage happens each round. There's nothing in the rules that suggests otherwise. So yes, that sniper is going to snipe you.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Russo
United States
Lansdale
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mbmb
Each phase of a turn happens, even if nothing happens in that phase. For the goblin sniper this makes thematic sense because even if you don't fight any enemies, he is sitting up in the trees trying to pick you off.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marco Rosenberg
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you both! I have in fact proceeded as if the combat phase was occurring anyway, and it's not that bad to have Glóin with Self preservation attached, absorbing the Goblin's arrows and producing
resources.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tony Fanchi
United States
Saint Paul
Minnesota
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If the Goblin Sniper is the only enemy in the staging area, then you can optionally engage it to get rid of it.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Josh
United States
flag msg tools
All my sins are of omission
badge
The kung fu hippie from Gansta City
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm pretty sure that one of the Sniper's annoying powers is that he can't be optionally engaged.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David K.
United States
Pflugerville
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
JoshBot wrote:
I'm pretty sure that one of the Sniper's annoying powers is that he can't be optionally engaged.


Only if there are other enemies in the staging area. If they are alone... engage away!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Josh
United States
flag msg tools
All my sins are of omission
badge
The kung fu hippie from Gansta City
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Board gaming has taught me that my reading comprehension sucks.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marco Rosenberg
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I would have engaged the sniper optionally, but just
soon after I got rid of the next to the last enemy into
the staging area... BAM it came from the encounter deck
a second Goblin sniper.
No way I could engage them optionally, since
they back up each others.

I lost this game just an hour ago... Anduin.
It is my 15th lost game in a row against Anduin. cry
Sorry for the pouring out off topic.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Oleg volobujev
msg tools
mbmb
HardCoreGamer wrote:
I would have engaged the sniper optionally, but just
soon after I got rid of the next to the last enemy into
the staging area... BAM it came from the encounter deck
a second Goblin sniper.
No way I could engage them optionally, since
they back up each others.

I lost this game just an hour ago... Anduin.
It is my 15th lost game in a row against Anduin. cry
Sorry for the pouring out off topic.


Dont worry Anduin is only difficult until you get use to play this game.
Soon it will be no problem for you if you will try hard enough.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Patrick Brennan
Australia
St Ives, Sydney
NSW
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm not sure Anduin is ever easy. After beating all the Dwarrowdelf scenarios with each (thinned) single sphere deck, I went back to try Anduin and Dol Guldur with these same updated higher-powered decks and the going is still heavy. For solo play, I reckon the Dwarrowdelf scenarios are 3-5's, Anduin's a 7, Dol Guldur an 8.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
notrub eneg
United States
California
flag msg tools
mb
I ran into the same problem (double snipers). The only way I got out of it before things built up beyond ability to handle, was to direct hit with Gandalf (and his 5 cost if not playing leadership).

Ping one out and engage the other, even if you take a threat hit to do it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.