Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
15 Posts

Memoir '44» Forums » Rules

Subject: Blowing up bridges rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Pierre-Yves Caron
Canada
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I've been playing Market Garden Overlord Scenario recently and came up with a question regarding how to blow up a bridge.

Where is written the actual rule on how to do it? I've browsed through rules manuals and read on the map itself but couldn't find it.

I don't have Terrain Pack yet, in case the rule is written in there....
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Leonardo Martino
Italy
Milano
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
pwhy5 wrote:
I've been playing Market Garden Overlord Scenario recently and came up with a question regarding how to blow up a bridge.

Where is written the actual rule on how to do it? I've browsed through rules manuals and read on the map itself but couldn't find it.

I don't have Terrain Pack yet, in case the rule is written in there....


to tell the truth I think its in the Memoir '44: Terrain Pack rules
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
Blowing up a bridge

The following two options describe different possible ways to
handle the potential destruction of a bridge in a given scenario.

Option 1 – To blow up a road or railroad bridge, a player must, on
his turn, play a Section card corresponding to the flank in which
the bridge lays (if the bridge is across two distinct sections, the player may
then play a Section card from either of the two sections).Upon playing the card,
the bridge is destroyed and removed from the board. This action takes up the
player’s entire turn, and the player does not draw a new command card at the
end of his turn. Instead, his hand of command cards is now reduced by one less
card for the rest of the game.

Option 2 – Same as above, but instead of triggering an automatic destruction
of the bridge, the play of the Section card gives the player the opportunity to
roll two Battle dice. If a star is rolled, the bridge is destroyed and removed,
otherwise it survives the attack. Unlike in option 1, the attacking player does
get to replenish his hand by drawing a Command card as normal at the end of
his turn, regardless of whether the attack against the bridge succeeds or not.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Shabatowski
Canada
Stittsville
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Okay Brian, I have looked at your profile and the time has come to ask you this: you are from Indiana. Are you going to GenCon and is there any possibility that I could have the privilege of playing a couple games of M44 with you when I am down there?


ColtsFan76 wrote:
Blowing up a bridge

The following two options describe different possible ways to
handle the potential destruction of a bridge in a given scenario.

Option 1 – To blow up a road or railroad bridge, a player must, on
his turn, play a Section card corresponding to the flank in which
the bridge lays (if the bridge is across two distinct sections, the player may
then play a Section card from either of the two sections).Upon playing the card,
the bridge is destroyed and removed from the board. This action takes up the
player’s entire turn, and the player does not draw a new command card at the
end of his turn. Instead, his hand of command cards is now reduced by one less
card for the rest of the game.

Option 2 – Same as above, but instead of triggering an automatic destruction
of the bridge, the play of the Section card gives the player the opportunity to
roll two Battle dice. If a star is rolled, the bridge is destroyed and removed,
otherwise it survives the attack. Unlike in option 1, the attacking player does
get to replenish his hand by drawing a Command card as normal at the end of
his turn, regardless of whether the attack against the bridge succeeds or not.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
Paul Shabatowski wrote:
Okay Brian, I have looked at your profile and the time has come to ask you this: you are from Indiana.

Yes. Oh wait, that wasn't a question.

Quote:
Are you going to GenCon...

Yes, that is the current plan.

Quote:
... and is there any possibility that I could have the privilege of playing a couple games of M44 with you when I am down there?]

That is a possibility. I am going as a volunteer for FFG, however, so my schedule is not set until about a week before I head down. But I usually try to get at least one full day off to enjoy the Con and other things. Plus our game group tries to meet up and play games after official things close down.

Send me a message when we get closer and we can trade info to see if we can make that a possibility.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
René Christensen
Denmark
Solroed Strand
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So the player that blows up a bridge don't have to have unit on or next to the bridge?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
Slotracer wrote:
So the player that blows up a bridge don't have to have unit on or next to the bridge?

Correct. I see it more as an air strike on the bridge, not sabotage.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
René Christensen
Denmark
Solroed Strand
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Wouldn't that require a plane on the map? And I don't recalde them in the Hedgerow Hell.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jesse Rasmussen
United States
Bend
Oregon
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Slotracer wrote:
Wouldn't that require a plane on the map? And I don't recalde them in the Hedgerow Hell.


It would only require a Plane on the board like the Air Power card requires a plane on the board...blowing up a bridge is not one of the special actions available to Planes when you are using the Air Pack rules.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
Slotracer wrote:
Wouldn't that require a plane on the map? And I don't recalde them in the Hedgerow Hell.

No. I am saying that is the thematic interpretation of how the rule is applied. It is no different than playing an Air Power card in a non-Air Rule game.

Or if you don't want to call it a plane bombing the bridge, say it was a barrage from somewhere else (just like if you played a barrage card).

The point is, if the bridge blows up and no unit is by it, it wasn't sabotage per se. It was some distant equipment doing the damage. That is, if you need thematic justification of what you are doing. Or you can say you sent a small unit detached from your main force to work your way up there and take it out.

Rules wise, you just don't need a unit adjacent.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
S H
United States
Merrillville
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Just curious, what happens to any unit on said bridge?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Clexton27
United States
Forest
Virginia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If you go to Memoir 44 Card Compendium you will find lots of helpful rules,etc. :
http://www.daysofwonder.com/memoir44/en/content/cards_compen...

Even the specific card for BLOWING UP BRIDGES:


Just remember, that blowing up a bridge is a scenario specific rule and not all scenarios with bridges allow you the option of BLOWING UP BRIDGES. Just read the scenario rules, it will indicate which rule cards come into play. There are scenarios, that actually do require you to have a unit adjacent and have a different mechanic for blowing up the bridge, (like rolling dice for star results). I know there was at least one scenario in Campaign Book #1 with this rule. Again always read the scenario rules before play and you will have the correct rules to play with.(To be frank, I did not remember any blowing up bridges rules in Operation Market Garden. There are special rules about occupying and controlling bridges as these grant medals, however, no blowing up bridges). Tigers in the Snow has a blowing up bridges option.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Clexton27
United States
Forest
Virginia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Boss Trojan wrote:
Just curious, what happens to any unit on said bridge?


Any unit on a bridge when it blows up is lost:

FAQ p.19

Quote:
Q. Do you have to be adjacent to the bridge to blow it?
A. No. Blowing up a bridge is a card play that does not require a unit to be adjacent to the bridge unless stated otherwise in the Special Rules. Note: The rules for blowing up a bridge are not permanent rules, but rather scenario-specific additions, outlined in the Special Rules section of each scenario.

Q. If a unit is on a bridge when it is blown up, is the unit destroyed?
A. Yes. The whole unit is destroyed along with the bridge. The unit counts as a Medal.


Q. If Iʼm allowed to build pontoon bridges, and my opponent is allowed to blow up bridges (like in Cadets of Saumur), can my opponent blow up a pontoon bridge I just built?
A. Yes.

BLOWING UP BRIDGES
Option 1
✪ Play Section card matching Bridgeʼs section ✪ Bridge is removed, card is lost and never replaced!
Option 2
✪ Play Section card matching Bridgeʼs section ✪ Roll 2 dice - a star blows Bridge
✪ Draw replacement card, regardless of outcome


You might want to go to the FAQ and read up on all these rules:

http://www.daysofwonder.com/memoir44/en/content/faq/





4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pierre-Yves Caron
Canada
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks, this clarifies everything.

How about boats? I know in Market Garden scenario you can use boats but are the rules for that also in the Terrain Pack?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
pwhy5 wrote:
Thanks, this clarifies everything.

How about boats? I know in Market Garden scenario you can use boats but are the rules for that also in the Terrain Pack?

Yes. And in the compendium on DOW's website as well.

http://www.daysofwonder.com/memoir44/en/content/cards_compen...



Terrain Pack wrote:
Collapsible Rafts & Boats
In the Nijmegen Bridges scenario included in this expansion,
Battle Star tokens are used to represent boats.

The three Allied infantry units on the left flank have collapsible
flat-bottom boats. Place a Battle Star token in the same hex as
each of these units, to distinguish them from the other units.

Units with boats may enter a river hex. A unit that enters a river hex must stop
and may move no further on that turn. When on a river hex, reduce the number
of battle dice the unit rolls by 1. A flag rolled against a unit in a boat on a
river hex causes a loss of one figure instead of a retreat. Once the unit crosses
the river, remove the unit’s Battle Star token; the unit has abandoned its boat,
and may now no longer move onto a river hex.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.