Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Thousand Islands Railway» Forums » Rules

Subject: Variable VPs question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Eric Brosius
United States
Needham Heights
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm puzzled by one of the examples given showing payment of Variable VPs.

If a player builds a Track card that connects only to 1 of his or her track, I would think based on the rules that 2 VPs would be earned---1 VP for building a Track that connects only to this player's track and 1 VP for the neighboring track. But the 2nd example says it's just 1 VP.

What am I missing? Or how can I better understand the process for awarding variable VPs?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ferdinand Köther
Germany
Bochum
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi Eric,

if a player connects to their own track only, no matter if to one or two of their own tracks, the player receives 1 VP.
Rules: "1 VP Connecting to only this player's track."

In case they connect to their own track on one side and to another player's on the other side, they receive 2 VP's for connecting to at least one other player's track and in this case they receive 1 VP for their own track as well, a total of 3 VP's. The other player receives 1 VP.
Rules: "To all players (including the active player, if they
connect to their own and another player's track):
1VP for every connected track."

If a player connects to two other players, they receive 2 VP's and each other player receives 1 VP; if a player connects to two tracks of one other player, they receive 2 VP's and the other player receives 2 VP's as well, 1 for each of their tracks.

Hope this answers your question, if not, please ask again.

Best,
Ferdi
3 
 Thumb up
5.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Brosius
United States
Needham Heights
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, thank you!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ferdinand Köther
Germany
Bochum
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Great, hope you'll enjoy the game.

Ferdi
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.