Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Chain Reaction 3.0» Forums » Rules

Subject: PLEASE HELP. COUPLE OF QUESTIONS rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
gary rembo
United Kingdom
brighton
Alaska
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi,
Just getting into this downloaded the 3.0 rules.
looking to purchase some specifics but just want to get the rules down firs.
Any help will be great.

When a group is activated do they all move then fire or move and fire one at a time?.

If a figure is knocked down are they actually placed prone?. on the table?.

unclear on the in sight explanation.
If a group is activated they all complete their moves before the insight reaction kicks in correct?.
what if individuals of a group move in and out of sight on subsequent turns is the role taken every time or just the first time an opponent spots your group.
what does the "and have moved no more than 2 inches" mean does this mean you only get to insight react to figures that moved less than 2 inches during their movement?.

My understanding is this:
group A {say 4 characters} activates.
they ALL move their full movement around a corner where elements of group B catches sight of them and takes an insight test.
this test is only taken once the first time even if group A move out of their sight then back into sight.
so how does the 2 inches rule work and what is it for?

Just curious do you measure from the centre of a figure or the edge of the base for ranges?.

Please help
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ronald Pehr
United States
Las Vegas
Nevada
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
When a group is activated the idea is that they do things as a group, and would move and/or fire in concert. But it is possible - explicitly in the rules as well as if they were real people - for them to move/fire piecemeal. In the latter case, if a figure gets too far from the group he is his own group.

If a figure is knocked down you'd place the piece on its side/prone.

The rule about the 2" is that once an insight test is called for the active figures still can move another 2" -if they haven't already reached the end of their movement allowance - simulating that they were already in motion and might not be able or want to "stop on a dime" when they suddenly see their opponents.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
gary rembo
United Kingdom
brighton
Alaska
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
so when is the insight test called?.
the instance the first member of a group comes into view or the whole group.bearing in mind that figures in a group can be 4 inches apart this would make quite a difference.

also is this test taken every time a group is re spotted ie if they move back into cover then out again.

so the two inches are for when a group is sighted they can reposition or move out of sight etc?.

sorry im having touble here rules seem a little vague and the 2 inch think seem very badly explained.

hard to find any examples of play or battle reports here or on youtube.
thx once again.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fabio Calzolari
Italy
S.Lazzaro di Savena
Bologna
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Jokerman wrote:
so when is the insight test called?.

the instance the first member of a group comes into view.

Jokerman wrote:
also is this test taken every time a group is re spotted ie if they move back into cover then out again.

No. The insight test is called only for the first time in the round. The two figures that already have seen themselves will not trigger a new insight test.
When you do a new activation roll then this all is "reset" and new insight tests will happens.

Jokerman wrote:
so the two inches are for when a group is sighted they can reposition or move out of sight etc?.

Imho, they are more to allow the whole group to sort out and fire.
Without that movement the "head" of the group will be always alone

Jokerman wrote:
hard to find any examples of play or battle reports here or on youtube.

The best you can do is to go to the THW yahoo group and browse 3-4 years of message. You're not alone asking for clarifications

I bought 5150:SA and found some difference from the Core 3.0 rules (minor differences, and in the "better" direction - one of them is a "better" insight test-) so i'd buy and learn the ones you need, if the main mechanics seems right for you.
At least in 5150 they're explained from the ground again, so you don't need the 3.0 core.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ed Teixeira
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
mb
Did you get your free copy of Chain Reaction 2015 - the latest version? Stay up to date with streamlined mechanics and quicker play.

http://www.twohourwargames.com/chrefive.html
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.