Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Twilight Imperium (Third Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Initiating Space Combat? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Tom Vander Velden
United States
Appleton
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
When is space combat considered to be "initiated"?

Is it as soon as an enemy ship moves into a system?

or

Is it after PDS fire, and there are remaining ships left in the system?

The question came up when in reference to Corrupt Empire political card. The FAQ states you need to initiate a space or ground battle.

Player A activates Player B's system, he moves a ship into the system, PDS destroys the ship, no ship left to do a space battle.

Did player A meet the requirements for Corrupt Empire?

The rules states a space battle is initiated by moving into a system?

Seems it could be interpreted either way?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Petersen
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
Steps are Movement, PDS fire, Space Battle. Space Battle begins during the Space Battle step when space units of two different players exist.

Naalu's retreat is "Before the Space Battle step" and therefore would also prevent a Space Battle from occurring. All other retreats/withdrawals count as losing Space Battles.

Player A does not meet the requirements.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Vander Velden
United States
Appleton
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the answer, this makes the most ssense to me.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.