Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Cubby KC
United States
Overland Park
Kansas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi all, I'm new to the Memoir 44 family, and it's disappointing to find out that so many things are out a print (guess coming late to the party sucks). My question is, how much am i missing out on without the "Air Pack", "Operation Overlord", and "Campaign Book Vol. 1". I know the game is designed for different expansions, and can be played without each expansions, but I don't want to miss out on some scenarios just because i don't have the "air pack", or can't use the Camp. Book 2, because i don't have Vol. 1. Just anyone's thoughts on the matter would be great. Thank you.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris May
United States
Fort Worth
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Feeling lucky punk? Well, do ya?
mbmbmbmbmb
You honestly will be fine without those three expansions. Nothing from those three is needed for the scenarios in the various army pack expansions. (maybe a stray marker here and there, but easily substituted and some are reprinted in campaign book 2 and winter wars) Those are the ones you want to pick up.

Getting terrain pack, eastern front, pacific theater, mediteranean theater, breakthrough, desert/winter maps, campaign book 2 and winter wars and you will be able to play anything in the scenarios except overlord.

If you want to play overlord then you are best off buying two copies of the base game and two copies of the desert/winter map. Then if you are ok with subbing americans and germans for russians or british you can play any of the overlord scenarios. If you are a completist you would need two copies of mediteranean theater and eastern front, but those are still in print.

Hope that helps.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
StevenE Smooth Sailing...
United States
Torrance
California
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Agreed.

You are not missing anything yet... There is a lot to play just in the base game and army expansions.