Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Small World» Forums » Rules

Subject: Active Race special power applicable to regions held by ID race? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Gova RO
msg tools
Consider the following situation:

You are playing with Wealthy Orcs as the active race, and you have no ID race.

You conquer some regions with this race, including some forests and some farms.

You send the Wealthy Orcs in decline and pickup the Forest Humans as the new active race.

Your active race's bonuses are +1 VP for forest regions and +1 VP for farm regions.

Do you get these bonuses for the forest and farm regions occupied by the Orcs in decline also, or only for regions occupied by your new active Humans?

My interpretation when playing the game was the following:

For the Forest special power, the rulebook says "Collect 1 bonus Victory coin for each Forest Region you occupy at turn's end", meaning YOU as a player, so the ID Orcs cand also score the bonus for the forest regions they occupy.

For the Humans race, the rulebook says "Each Farmland Region your Humans occupy is worth 1 bonus Victory Coin, at the end of your turn", meaning ID Orcs cannot score the bonus for the farms.

So, if you have ID Orcs and Active Forest Humans, you score bonuses for forest regions for BOTH races, but only score bonuses for farms held by Humans.

Is this correct?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rusty McFisticuffs
United States
Arcata
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
useridtchoara wrote:
Do you get these bonuses for the forest and farm regions occupied by the Orcs in decline also, or only for regions occupied by your new active Humans?

Humans only; see the first paragraph of the "Special Powers" section on p. 10.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jo Chapman
New Zealand
Wellington
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Nope - your active and indecline races are independent, their powers do not affect each other. In your example you would get only 1 point for each region occupied by the ID Orcs, and potential bonuses only on regions occupied by the Humans.
Most of the time, in SmallWorld rules, 'you' means 'this race' rather than 'this player'.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fernando Robert Yu
Philippines
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Indeed..you may even attack your own ID race...this shows you that they are indeed independent..
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gova RO
msg tools
Thanks everyone!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.