Recommend
7 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

D-Day Dice: Atlantikwall» Forums » Rules

Subject: Solo games? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Adam Dork
United States
Silver Spring
MD
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I am trying out this expansion Solo to learn the rules before introducing it to others. Am I correct in seeing that this is more of a way to learn the ropes of playing or do I roll dice for the Allied troops as well?
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryan Lane
Canada
Victoria
BC
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm trying to figure out the solitaire rules too. Granted, I'm not looking at the rule book proper as I don't have it handy at the moment, but the online rules only outline the movement for the allies, not the handling of dice rolls, item acquisition or specialist recruitment.

How do the allies gain/manage resources/specialists/items/etc.? I can see them not gaining items, because that would require you to choose when best to use said items.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
Per the normal rules, you must "man the sector" to do DEF damage.

The Allied unit is doing nothing else but meandering about the board triggering the DEF. You do not roll dice for him and do not collect anything for him. He only recruits the Sniper which will harass you every other turn until you take him out. This is additional to the DEF damage.

The other other change is that unmanned MGF and Landmines now do damage which gets turned on you.

If you can survive with 1 or more soldiers when he gets to the bunker, then you win. If you get to zero, you lose.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
France
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ColtsFan76 wrote:
Per the normal rules, you must "man the sector" to do DEF damage.

The Allied unit is doing nothing else but meandering about the board triggering the DEF. You do not roll dice for him and do not collect anything for him. He only recruits the Sniper which will harass you every other turn until you take him out. This is additional to the DEF damage.

The other other change is that unmanned MGF and Landmines now do damage which gets turned on you.

If you can survive with 1 or more soldiers when he gets to the bunker, then you win. If you get to zero, you lose.


Many thanks Brian for clearing that up !
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryan Lane
Canada
Victoria
BC
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ColtsFan76 wrote:
Per the normal rules, you must "man the sector" to do DEF damage.

The Allied unit is doing nothing else but meandering about the board triggering the DEF. You do not roll dice for him and do not collect anything for him. He only recruits the Sniper which will harass you every other turn until you take him out. This is additional to the DEF damage.

The other other change is that unmanned MGF and Landmines now do damage which gets turned on you.

If you can survive with 1 or more soldiers when he gets to the bunker, then you win. If you get to zero, you lose.


Sorry, I'm dense. I still don't get it. So the allies have infinite guys (you don't track them)? How many do they start with? Is there any point to manning MGF/mines/etc.? When/how do they recruit the sniper? Start with it I guess?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
France
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
fastlane wrote:
ColtsFan76 wrote:
Per the normal rules, you must "man the sector" to do DEF damage.

The Allied unit is doing nothing else but meandering about the board triggering the DEF. You do not roll dice for him and do not collect anything for him. He only recruits the Sniper which will harass you every other turn until you take him out. This is additional to the DEF damage.

The other other change is that unmanned MGF and Landmines now do damage which gets turned on you.

If you can survive with 1 or more soldiers when he gets to the bunker, then you win. If you get to zero, you lose.


Sorry, I'm dense. I still don't get it. So the allies have infinite guys (you don't track them)? How many do they start with? Is there any point to manning MGF/mines/etc.? When/how do they recruit the sniper? Start with it I guess?


yes you don't use the allied men.

for the sniper : The Allies will automatically recruit their Sniper the 1st time they Advance. Starting on the next turn, the Allied Sniper
will fire every turn the Allies don’t move. When hit by the
Sniper, you must lose 1 Specialist of your choice (or your
Zwangsrekrut).
There are 2 ways to kill the Sniper. You can use the
Sniper Badge Decoration on the Allies. Or, you can use the
Scharfschütze 4 times on the Allies (use tokens as a reminder):
this will allow you to “find” the hidden Sniper. Once you do,
immediately sacrifice the Scharfschütze to get rid of this Allied
pest!

mines/mfg : If the Allies are in a Sector with inactive MGF, you must roll MGF and suffer the casualties yourself. Only when MGF is
active do you ignore it. The same goes for Landmines.

hope that helps !
5 
 Thumb up
0.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
Powerwis has it right.

The Allied unit is basically just a time track. When he enters a sector, you as the German are going to lose a number of soldiers equal to the DEF value of that sector. When he "pauses" the turn after entering, he is going to use the Sniper on you. This is a special case where you just lose 1 Specialist each round (as described in the rules). The sniper isn't picked up until the Allies Advance.



So for example, let's use Map N-09 as an example. (the map is an earlier version and may not be completely accurate)

You would randomly determine where the Allied unit is going to start since there are two Starting sectors. Say roll a die and odds in sector 1 evens in sector 2. We roll even so he goes into Sector 2.

On the first turn you (the German) lose 3 soldiers because that is the DEF of the area. The Allied unit stays their for turn 2 and you lose another 3 soldiers.

On Turn 3 he must move. He can't move laterally like he is programmed to do because of the barricades. So he must advance. Since he has a choice, he must move towards the edge of the board first, which is sector 5, in this case. Because the Allies advance, they get the Sniper. You now lose 5 Soldiers because of the new DEF in this sector. Also, they advanced across a land mine. All land mines are inactive at the start of the game. The German has to activate them by recruiting specialists. If he has the Fuses item or the Pionier, then the land mine is activated and nothing happens. If not, then the GERMAN suffers the losses for the d6 roll. (This is a change from the base game in that typically Inactive landmines are ignored and active landmines hurt the Allies.)

Turn 4, the Allies don't move, so the Sniper will go off. You must lose the Specialist of your choice. Then you lose another 5 Soldiers for the DEF.

Turn 5, they have to move laterally because they never visited this sector. So they move to Sector 4. Because they moved, no Sniper action this turn. But you lose 2 Soldiers for the DEF. You also encounter MGF dice now. Just like the landmine, if they are Active (through items or specialists), they are ignored. If they are inactive, the German must roll for them and take the casualties.

And so it goes. The Allied unit will move on this map to Sector 3 -> Sector 6 -> Sector 7 -> Sector 10 -> Sector 9 -> Sector 8-> Sector 11 -> Sector 12 -> Bunker. They pause every other turn to take out a Specialist with the Sniper. The MGF and landmines will hurt the German unless activated.

The only damage you can do to the Allied unit is to take out his Sniper. As soon as you do, you won't be losing Specialists every other turn. The only damage you can prevent to yourself is to man the Landmines and MGF to prevent those from blowing up in your face. You will lose the DEF of each sector twice against your soldiers (unless you can prevent it through the play of cards).

Does this make more sense? So the Allied Unit does not roll dice, cannot be killed, does not get any cards (except the Sniper) and continues along his merry way back and forth up the beach.

Once he gets to the bunker, there is no "final show down" like there is in the regular game (that is, no Phase 6 Assault). If the Allied unit enters the Bunker and you have at least 1 soldier, you win. If you ever get to 0 soldiers, you lose.
8 
 Thumb up
0.37
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
France
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Brian, this is a very good and clear explanation of the german solo play ! Kudos !
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryan Lane
Canada
Victoria
BC
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
powerwis wrote:
Brian, this is a very good and clear explanation of the german solo play ! Kudos !


Indeed. Even I get it now

Thanks for taking the time to explain it to me.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Jenkins
Thailand
San Patong
Chiang Mai
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I don't even have this expansion, and I get it. that's a really neat reversed use mechanic.

It's essentially keep throwing troops into the line and hold on with your fingernails, in the way, the Allies Charge ahead, and hold what they can get.

Loving this.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.