Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Virgin Queen» Forums » Rules

Subject: Piracy & Assassination rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
L. D.
msg tools
Hello again,

Another quick questions regarding Piracy & Assassination this time.

Rule 16.4 states as follows:
Quote:
5. Roll Piracy Dice: The active player rolls this number of dice.
Each roll of a “5” or a “6” is considered to be a hit. For each hit
scored, the targeted power must choose to do one of the following:

a. Eliminate a naval unit in or adjacent to the targeted sea zone,
b. Allow the active power to draw at random and keep 1 card
from his hand (it cannot be played until a future impulse),
c. Award the active player 1 VP for Piracy, and
d. Downgrade the Spanish Armada by one level if Spain was
the piracy target and the Armada was in or adjacent to the sea
zone where piracy occurred."


Question: As option a. is written, the target power can choose to eliminate any naval unit in or adjacent to the targeted sea zone, including naval units from other powers. Is this correct ?



Also, result row of the Espionage table for "2 more attacker hits" and subsequent rows is stating:
Quote:
Target killed & 1 VP awarded if attacker's hits exceeds defender's by more than Battle Rating of target. Either way defender discards random card.


Question: How should this be read ? Does it mean that target is killed as long as attacker hits exceeds defender's by 2 (and that, on top, attacker receive 1VP if his hits exceeds defender's by more than B.R. of target). Or does those two events occurs only if attacker's hits exceeds defender's by more than B.R. of target ? But in this case, what does the "Either way [...]" in the following sentence stands for ?

Bonus question: When a power has to discard a random card, prior to discarding, it removes from its hand its Home Cards, but not its Mandatory Events, right ?

Thanks a lot for your enlightened answers ! ^^
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Kiefte
Canada
Dartmouth
Nova Scotia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Can't promise enlightened answers:

SinRJ wrote:
Question: As option a. is written, the target power can choose to eliminate any naval unit in or adjacent to the targeted sea zone, including naval units from other powers. Is this correct ?


The target power can only eliminate naval units under his control. Either one belonging to him or loaned to him. (pick the loaned one -- it's cheaper. arrrh

SinRH wrote:

Question: How should this be read ? Does it mean that target is killed as long as attacker hits exceeds defender's by 2 (and that, on top, attacker receive 1VP if his hits exceeds defender's by more than B.R. of target). Or does those two events occurs only if attacker's hits exceeds defender's by more than B.R. of target ? But in this case, what does the "Either way [...]" in the following sentence stands for ?


You get 1VP and the target dies only if the number of hits exceeds by the target battle rating (which is usually 1). Otherwise, nothing happens.

EDIT: "Either way" just means whether the target is killed or not (and you get 1VP).

Quote:
Bonus question: When a power has to discard a random card, prior to discarding, it removes from its hand its Home Cards, but not its Mandatory Events, right ?


Correct.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kristian Thy
Denmark
Taastrup
flag msg tools
Together, we are the United Nations
badge
Gunulfr ok Øgotr ok Aslakr ok Rolfr resþu sten þænsi æftir Ful, felaga sin, ær warþ ... døþr, þa kunungar barþusk.
Avatar
mb
mkiefte wrote:
You get 1VP and the target dies only if the number of hits exceeds by the target battle rating (which is usually 1). Otherwise, nothing happens.


Otherwise, the target has to discard. If, for example, you try to assassinate Elizabeth and score two hits more than the English, she survives, you do not get a VP but England must discard.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steven
United States
Spokane
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
"The mystery of life isn't a problem to solve, but a reality to experience"
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
SinRJ wrote:
Also, result row of the Espionage table for "2 more attacker hits" and subsequent rows is stating:
Quote:
Target killed & 1 VP awarded if attacker's hits exceeds defender's by more than Battle Rating of target. Either way defender discards random card.


Question: How should this be read ? Does it mean that target is killed as long as attacker hits exceeds defender's by 2 (and that, on top, attacker receive 1VP if his hits exceeds defender's by more than B.R. of target). Or does those two events occurs only if attacker's hits exceeds defender's by more than B.R. of target ? But in this case, what does the "Either way [...]" in the following sentence stands for ?


Building off what everyone mentioned, the only situations this would occur would be if Don John,Duke of Parma, Maurice of Navarre, or Elizabeth is targeted (they have a battle rating of 2). If you would get two hits, you would only tie the battle rating in these two cases. The power still has to discard a card for your troubles, but would live.

If you score three or more hits against these leaders they would die. They are a little more resilient against assassination than other leaders. Just remember that England also has a home card to help protect Liz.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joel K
United States
Minnetrista
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
SW_Cygnus wrote:
the only situations this would occur would be if Don John, or Elizabeth is targeted (they both have a battle rating of 2)

Don John the army leader only has a battle rating of 1 (the 2 is for his naval version). The Duke of Parma and Maurice of Navarre have battle ratings of 2.
1 
 Thumb up
0.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steven
United States
Spokane
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
"The mystery of life isn't a problem to solve, but a reality to experience"
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Opps! I will correct that. Thanks. blush
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Kiefte
Canada
Dartmouth
Nova Scotia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
JoelCFC25 wrote:
SW_Cygnus wrote:
the only situations this would occur would be if Don John, or Elizabeth is targeted (they both have a battle rating of 2)

Don John the army leader only has a battle rating of 1 (the 2 is for his naval version). The Duke of Parma and Maurice of Navarre have battle ratings of 2.


Don John is a very good target when he's on land.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.