Performed my personal unboxing last night, sleeved all the cards and reviewed the components and rules to prepare for my first encounter tonight and I have a small question which hopefully someone can help me with.
I understand how to utilize the number tokens (for applying random attributes when using the Sword Beach map), but could only find a statement stating 'double-sided green/red tokens are provided to place on Sectors as required'. I searched the rules but couldn't find any other reference to these tokens. Can someone please explain when and where the green and red tokens are used; why they are different (what is the significance of red vs green); and what does the exclamation point (!) on the red token signify.
There is nothing in the base game that requires them. In later expansions (Normandy off the top of my head), require them. You reach Command Posts to be able to get into the bunker later so we introduced them to record this game state. Emmanuel will also be using them in upcoming expansions.
So the board was developed in Normandy to help with that expansion. And because the base game also had a need for the numbers and hadn't gone into production yet, we added the extra board to make sure we had plenty.